We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood favorite”
Review of Annabel Lee Tavern

Annabel Lee Tavern
Ranked #121 of 2,016 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canton
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Neighborhood favorite”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I want good food and a comfortable atmosphere, me and my husband go here. Friendly staff, excellent food, great beers, great specials, and a quick walk away from home. Always our go to place. Love it! Best addition to the neighborhood.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    35
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Been going here for 4 years- we drive over an hour and a half!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

OMG- This place is awesome!! We first found it almost 5 years ago. We drive about an hour a 45 minutes to go there- or go anytime we are in Baltimore. The atmosphere is awesome, the décor is awesome, and the service is awesome. The first time we went my daughter was visiting from college and we were trying to find somewhere to take her- she loves Poe and we'd heard about the Annabel Lee. We arrived at around 7pm- the place was PACKED because is was Edgar Allen Poe's birthday- we had no idea. We were told we had at least an hour wait- which we replied we drove almost two hours so we would wait. It was well worth the wait. The Duck fat fries are awesome. I told my son they were the best fries he would ever eat- he didn't believe me. He was visiting me after college- so we took him to the Annabel lee, and he said to Kurt- the owner- "You've ruined me, I will never be able to eat regular fries again. And Kurt remembers our name every time we go- and he remembered my sons name after over a year asking me how he was. Awesome food, awesome people, awesome atmosphere, awesome food!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome neighborhood tavern”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Small, friendly, and fast paced with excellent food. We have never been disappointed in the menu and the quality of the food. The guys behind the bar really hustle! Good beer selection. Love the Edgar Allen Poe theme, quaint environment, neighborhood friendly. Can be very busy, Call Ahead for reservations on weekends. Had the Chicken spinach wrap and Blue Cheese Coleslaw. Love they have Resurrection on tap! Quick service, helpful staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What an amazing experience in this quaint place. Our server, Jeannie was amazing! Very attentive. The food was delicious. While other reviews raved about the crab dip flatbread, we felt it lacking in flavor. Everything else was delicious. The crab stuffed shrimp was excellent with a large amount of lump crab. The fish tacos were perfect. The duck fat fries were indulgent but worth every calorie. A must try when in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow those duck fat fries are delicious”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is really small and really unique. We sat at the bar since there were only 3 of us. The beer and speciality drink selection was awesome. We had the duck fat fries as an appetizer. I don't usually say things are delicious but they certainly were worth every calorie. I had the Annapolis chicken sandwich with sweet potato fries. Both were very good. The 2 people I was with really liked their salads and one of the specials for the day. I would highly recommend searching this place out. It is worth your time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jclb517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annabel Lee Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Annabel Lee Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing