We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, not impressed”
Review of Falling Rock

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falling Rock
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Rooms and property are beautiful. Service was spotty. Front door team was delightful. Housekeeping, not so much. Left our room at 8:30 a.m., back at 3:30 pm, had not been cleaned. Then they came at 4 pm for the turn down service. Hmmm. Also not sure what part of "can I get the cookies gluten free?" didn't they understand.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ace2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

You cant go wrong at any of the properties within Nemacolin. The accomodations, staff and services are 5 star. Treat yourself to msomethibg special, visit Nemacolin. Webvisited for 4 vdays in July, our weather was not suoer sunny but there is so much to see and do!

Room Tip: Any of the properties are fantastic....there are alsomcondos and townhomes for a more relaxed visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimwhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

During a corporate event, servers were huddled in a cluster out of sight of the guests. They rarely, if ever, offered refreshing a cocktail or glass of wine. Had to be tracked down to get anything. The facility is great, and service is good when they are very busy. But when it is slow, service is lackadaisical. Should be much better. Room is very nice, but frigid and tough to control hvac. Warm cookies and milk in the evening is a very nice touch. Wow, is it a long way from Pittsburgh!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed at the Falling Rock in July for two nights on a business trip.

I'm not easy to please, but the Falling Rock had me beaming from ear to ear!

The room was impeccably clean, well-lit and designed with a useful floor plan. In addition to the large and comfortable bed (complete with a "pillow menu" to fit anyone's needs), there was a nice business-oriented desk with convenient LAN connectivity (and WiFi) and plenty of power outlets around the room. The bathroom was functional too, with generous lighting, a powerful shower and massive mirrors.

Bonus points to the "butler" service. I needed ice — done! I needed three shirts ironed — done! I needed help with ordering food — done! And, of course, it was all accomplished with a big smile.

One suggestion: To make things "perfect," I'd like small mirrors in the shower to aid while shaving!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem very nice. However, I'd choose one on the west side, to better view the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hands down, Falling Rock is the finest establishment I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. I took away memories that will last a lifetime. We had a King suite overlooking the infinity edge pool and our butler kindly woke us with tea every morning and drew the curtains. The service was impeccable. The butler even drew me a bath each evening with flowers and candles. It was very difficult to return to my not-so-pampered normal life. I hope to afford a return to Falling Rock sometime soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katidid213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Imagine........an immaculate and stunning property with incredible views, spacious and nicely appointed room, great marble bathroom, Brad the Butler (the best!), a drive in the Rolls Royce, outstanding service, and swimming in the infinity pool at midnight (allowed!). This is truly a magnificant property. The only downside is the food service needs work. Aqueous (the fine dining restaurant) needs a Gordon Ramsey shakeup. The duck and the lamb were not good. The duck (which we ordered at chef recommended temperature) was underdone and had a weird smoky flavor. The lamb was very fatty and lacking in flavor. Instead, take a ride in the Rolls and go to Autumn in the Chateau. The Black Cod was fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved our summer vacation at the Falling Rock Hotel at Nemacolin. The facility is gorgeous and immaculate. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The infinity pool overlooking the golf course and green hills was fabulous. The staff could not have been better. We were very well cared for by our "personal butler" who drew bubble baths and brought cookies, milk and tea at night. Nice touch that WiFi and most non-alcoholic drinks are included. Good restaurants and fun activities. We took a shooting lesson, went zip lining and played golf. Frank Lloyd Wrights Fallingwater is a very nice 30 minute drive. The town of Ohiopyle is on the way and you can stop and see Cucumber falls and a natural water slide (not safe for swimming) on the way. Good rafting down the Yough River if that interests you. Really great vacatoin.

Room Tip: I think our room was the least expensive - no balcony, but it was great. Not necessary to buy up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
574 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
142 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
0.1 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falling Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falling Rock

Address: 150 Falling Rock Blvd, at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, Farmington, PA 15437
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tribute to the organic architectural style of Frank Lloyd Wright, Falling Rock sits on the 18th green of Mystic Rock, a PGA-tour-tested golf course designed by Pete Dye. Guests of Falling Rock can enjoy fine dining at Aqueous, Nemacolin's AAA Four-Diamond upscale steakhouse, the stylish Amber Bar and the outdoor Sunset Terrace, overlooking the hotel's Infinity Pool. Host your next meeting, conference or banquet at Horizon Point, a deluxe meeting facility adjacent to this Pennsylvania luxury hotel. A recipient of the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Five-Star awards, Falling Rock boutique hotel features 42 rooms, including four suites, and will provide you with the most beautiful sleep of your life. Indulge in a 10-option pillow menu, upscale sheets and hand sewn chenille bedding. More than just a hotel, Falling Rock is the definition of an escape. Each guest at Falling Rock has access to 24-hour butler service. These professionally trained butlers provide guests with unrivaled attention and service during a stay at this Five Star hotel near Pittsburgh. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing