We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Room But Ok”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Farmington B&B and Inns
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small Room But Ok”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

It is old historic Inn that has some new rooms on the back. We stayed in the new part and the room was really room , tight to move around and to place your things. But the room was clean! The highway was noisy to noisy to sit on the porch but didn't hear it when you were inside. The food was pretty good a little pricey. We got a package deal for FallingWater and Kentuck Knob which was nice it was a good location for them. Didn't like that there was a in house phone to call front desk also no one at desk at 10pm to get help or ice or anything. Also don't carry much luggage in unless you want No room in our room and workout with luggage on all of the stairs

Room Tip: Don't take much luggage In.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    18
    12
    13
See reviews for
21
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our stay at this historic inn was less than pleasant. We stayed in the "New" wing of the inn because the rooms were recently updated. The rooms in this wing all have jacuzzi tubs, which is fine for some people, but when it takes up half the room, it leaves very tight quarters for the section that includes the queen-sized bed, a chair, a stand for handing clothes, and a cabinet which was dominated by a TV. The safety latch on the door of our room had been ripped off and not replaced and there were bugs in the room when we arrived..
Getting ice, someone to turn off an alarm that was sounding in a vacant room across from our son's at 9 p.m., or anything else we might have needed was not possible after 8 p.m. when the staff leaves and locks up the inn. No one responded to our call to their general number.
There is no handicap access to the inn rooms in the new wing.
There are two ways to access rooms in this wing, from the front door and from a side stair that is closer to this wing. It was difficult to use the side outdoor stair the days we were staying because workmen were working on it and were on the steps, replacing part and painting it and leaving tools on the stair steps. The handicap ramp was not functional; it started about 50 feet from the parking lot.
The breakfast they included with the room included bread products and yogurt; no type of protein such as hard boiled eggs or any type of meat.
We ate in their restaurant the first evening and the food was mediocre. The fries were very greasy and the medium burger ordered was less than medium.
Overall this was a poorly managed and appointed inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PammeSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The Inn is ideally situated for seeing Fallingwater and Kentuck Nob. The staff is wonderful and the meals outstanding. The only issue was road noise, which can be remedied by the proper selection of rooms. Avoid the Titwell and Braddock rooms as they front on the highway. We were originally in the Braddock room. We were moved to a room on the side if the Inn and it made a world of difference.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I was really hoping for better but what we got was just another run of the mill restaurant. First off the menu is really hard to navigate but it seemed to have quite a few options. We dined on a Sunday and opted for the prime rib house special. It was honestly just average, you could get a better prime rib at any chain steakhouse such as an Outback. Though the salads were good, the service was unbearably slow. A dinner that should have taken 1.5 hour max, was dragged out well over 2 hours. They presented a beer menu, but were out of mostly everything on the menu. I honestly won't go back but it seemed like everyone in the surrounding area was there that day. I wont recommend to any of my friends or family. You're better off driving into Uniontown for a better meal.

Room Tip: We did not sleep at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our group was amazed at the large crowds dining at the Stone House. The entire large facility was packed. Salads were fresh and tasty. Our server suggested the prime rib rather than the steak. The prime rib was average, not memorable. Mashed potatoes, skin on, were very good. The yeast rolls were light and fluffy, but lacked flavor. The bar was out of many of the beers on the menu and the wine choices were limited. Desserts- our group tired the strawberry shortcake which really should be taken off the menu. The cream brûlée was very good.

The service was very slow and salads took forever to arrive. Our server was quite stressed and more servers were needed. The dining room was loud and dining conversation was severely limited due to the surrounding noise. Overall, the dining experience was like going to a banquet, as large numbers of people were being served with average food in a loud setting. But, this is by far the better choice for dining while staying at the Nemacolin resort and preferring to dine casually.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the inn,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askier55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escalante, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Our room was very nice, good size, clean and a comfortable bed. The only thing we didn't like about it was that it was right in front, by route 40. Had we realized this we probably wouldn't have stayed. The cars/trucks... drive by all night, although it wasn't too bad from 10pm-6am. They served a continental breakfast which had plenty of choices as well as fresh fruit. We enjoyed our dinner which was very reasonably priced, also a good selection of beer at the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katahoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We did not stay at the Inn, but after our experience in the bar would not even consider it. the food was averge. We arrived at the restaurant to find the door locked and were told by people who were smoking on the front porch that we had to enter through the bar. There was no one in the restaurant so we had to eat in the bar. So much for a nice quiet dinner. after talking with people in the area we learned that it was at one time a very nice place. We should have read reviews and talked to locals BEFORE we went there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
13.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Country Inn

Property: Stone House Country Inn
Address: 3023 National Pike, Farmington, PA 15437-1224
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stone House Country Hotel Farmington
Country Inn Farmington
Farmington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing