We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness it was only one night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Farmington B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank goodness it was only one night”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our rating is not intended for the staff who are the only good thing about this Inn. We stayed one night in the Lincoln Room and the one thing we didn't get was sleep. We had requested a room at the back to avoid the road noise but 'the back' meant we had the scenic view of the roof and it's air conditioning units, which along with the room air conditioner (which you couldn't alter as the controls were inside a locked box!) meant there was so much noise it was impossible to sleep. The only electric outlet was inaccessible and appeared to be for the one lamp provided in the room away from the bed, so no bedside lighting or facility to use a laptop, if it required charging for example, despite the free wifi. Wouldn't normally complain about the smallest bath towels in the world or having a blanket on the bed rather than a duvet but it all added to a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank langham55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    37
    19
    12
    14
See reviews for
22
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Stone house for a company meeting. I am not a fan of bed and breakfast locations overall and was worred that this would be a problem. I opted for a "modern room" when I made the reservation which meant I had a TV and air conditioning. A few attendees were less pleased by having rooms without those ammenities. The room was clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was just okay, but their food at dinner time was excellent. I signed up for the "All Saints Beer Dinner" which included beer pairings with each course. The brewmaster and the chef were world class. Excellent. Christine was a huge help for our meeting and the food we had for that was also excellent. They really were kind and willing to do anything to make our meeting great.

Room Tip: If you want air and a TV let them know when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This 200 year Inn is not Ramada. It has been updated to co-exist in the modern day. Wifi is available and if you want a TV then one is offered in the common area. When I stayed there, the temperature was in the 80's and the air con was satisfactory even if I had no control of temperature. I stayed in the Lincoln room and the noise level from the equipment outside was minimal. The noise of route 40 was insignificant since the Lincoln room is on the back of the original building. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay with very helpful staff

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodisattva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Recently stayed as a member of a wedding party. We booked the entire Inn for two nights. The first night, we were greeted by two bats flying in one room and around the dining area. After several room switches (the newer rooms did not seem to be infested), we settled in only to be awakened by a bat circling around my bedroom at 6:15 AM. We were told that this happens now and then and nobody on the staff seemed to be upset by this. We attempted to eat lunch in the dining room only to be joined by yet another bat "hanging out" right next to our table. Again, nobody on the staff seemed bothered by this. This entire inn should be shut down and exterminated. I would never stay nor eat here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank pnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary.We stayed in the Sophia Gallatian room. The room was very nice and looked and smelled clean. I loved the feeling of being at a relatives house rather than in a hotel. It was very comfortable. The dinner we had was very good, especially the rolls. If you plan on being here on a Monday most of the town is shut down and many of the restaurants were not open other than a few in Union town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

It is old historic Inn that has some new rooms on the back. We stayed in the new part and the room was really room , tight to move around and to place your things. But the room was clean! The highway was noisy to noisy to sit on the porch but didn't hear it when you were inside. The food was pretty good a little pricey. We got a package deal for FallingWater and Kentuck Knob which was nice it was a good location for them. Didn't like that there was a in house phone to call front desk also no one at desk at 10pm to get help or ice or anything. Also don't carry much luggage in unless you want No room in our room and workout with luggage on all of the stairs

Room Tip: Don't take much luggage In.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our stay at this historic inn was less than pleasant. We stayed in the "New" wing of the inn because the rooms were recently updated. The rooms in this wing all have jacuzzi tubs, which is fine for some people, but when it takes up half the room, it leaves very tight quarters for the section that includes the queen-sized bed, a chair, a stand for handing clothes, and a cabinet which was dominated by a TV. The safety latch on the door of our room had been ripped off and not replaced and there were bugs in the room when we arrived..
Getting ice, someone to turn off an alarm that was sounding in a vacant room across from our son's at 9 p.m., or anything else we might have needed was not possible after 8 p.m. when the staff leaves and locks up the inn. No one responded to our call to their general number.
There is no handicap access to the inn rooms in the new wing.
There are two ways to access rooms in this wing, from the front door and from a side stair that is closer to this wing. It was difficult to use the side outdoor stair the days we were staying because workmen were working on it and were on the steps, replacing part and painting it and leaving tools on the stair steps. The handicap ramp was not functional; it started about 50 feet from the parking lot.
The breakfast they included with the room included bread products and yogurt; no type of protein such as hard boiled eggs or any type of meat.
We ate in their restaurant the first evening and the food was mediocre. The fries were very greasy and the medium burger ordered was less than medium.
Overall this was a poorly managed and appointed inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PammeSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#2 of 9 in Uniontown
540 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
148 reviews
13.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
129 reviews
2.6 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
#1 of 1 in Chalk Hill
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Country Inn

Property: Stone House Country Inn
Address: 3023 National Pike, Farmington, PA 15437-1224
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stone House Country Hotel Farmington
Country Inn Farmington
Farmington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing