We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Haven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Summit Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Historic Summit Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you are looking for a well-appointed icon of history to surround yourself in times when luxury and nature were highly valued, then the Historic Summit Inn is where you must be. As you enter, you are invited by the wafting aroma of a beautifully crackling fireplace, the open grand staircase w/Frank-Lloyd-Wright-ish banisters and stained glass windows, and a main desk w/pigeon-holed mahogany portals for room keys and guest mail--a setting directly out of a classic movie. After ringing the antique bell, which is a 'must' to do, the register is there for you to sign--as did well knowns such as Thomas Edison and Henry Ford and his son(those register pages are framed on the wall behind you), and "real" keys are put in your hand (not an electronic piece of plastic that rarely works anyhow) as you begin your mind-meld w/the past, which is richly present in every aspect of this Inn. Then step out onto the grand porch where the breathtaking view will begin your journey...you write the rest for yourselves because it will be so very easy to do. The sensory experiences and mind travel back in time are boundless.
Also, back to reality--the staff is extremely assistive and knowledgeable, the restaurant is a good choice for dining--from light apertifs to rich, full-course faire. A seat by the enormous wood-burning fireplace would be a suggestion on a chilly evening.
The grand staircase is something to savor as you transport your own wares step-by-intriguing-step; there is so much to view along this ascend to the top that you truly do not notice the lack of elevator--that's what "historical preservation" is all about.
We visited on the last open weekend in Autumn, and intend to savor the Inn and its' surroundings as a four-season trek. We suggest you do the same.
Don't bother staying at/dining at the high-priced competitor (name witheld), for we met "many" of their patrons at local restaurants as they stated they were fleeing the highly overpriced, skimpy epiucarian "lack of" delights served there searching...no, "longing" for a good, hearty meal. One does work up a healthy appetite while experiencing nature walks amongst the beauty of the locale.
Prepare yourself for this trip back in time, and be ready to reacquaint yourself w/nature. What are you waiting for?

Room Tip: So we're told, rm. 119 has a spectacular view--it is a king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infoqueenreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    141
    71
    49
    25
See reviews for
81
215
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I can only write a review on the restaurant and service and say it was very good. We were a group of 15 from a tour group who had reservations to dine there. They offered us a very nice buffet of 3 entree items. salads, nice sides and very good home made desserts. The food was tasty and very fresh. I know it wasn't but the orange roughy tasted like it was freshly caught. Everyone said so. The service and attention to detail for a tour group that didn't even stay at the inn was well above any of our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djwalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We paid $265 per night/weekend rates. Our room had mold on the ceiling. There was coffee in the main lobby but none in the room. The restaurant was below average. A chicken dish I ordered had a tasteless white sauce on it. Prime rib was raw. I expected more. We were unsure of how the restaurant was awarded stars for excellence. My husband jested that the chef,who was raved about was off of work the night we ate there.

We did laugh when the manager at the front desk, when asked what are some activities on a Saturday. said, "there is nothing to do here in the off season." She was wrong. About a mile down the road we did find some small stores, cute, but mostly closed by the time we found them. We did shop through one of them.

The staff, however, were pleasant.

Room Tip: Would never go there for the price, I am embarassed that we paid what we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farmington hotels

Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel and staff far exceeded my expectations. It was everything I had hoped for: the wonderful historic inn! It had been my dream to stay here since I was a teen. Coming home to PA for a week of sight-seeing with my husband meant 'give it a try'. We had a king room with a view (of Uniontown PA, my mom's home town) and oh, the autumn colors! The night lights! It was central to everything we wanted to do: Fallingwater, Ohiopyle, dinner with family in Uniontown. Just seeing it once again as we climbed the National Road to the Summit when we arrived was thrilling. I had the opportunity to speak with Keith who works the night shift, and he was so wonderful! Very helpful, most genuine and friendly. We also invited our close family to dinner in their lovely restaurant and it was perfect. I love this hotel and everything about it! Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garfypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

1. Nice large room with high ceilings that is a peaceful place for a meal.
2. Hostess and servers were very effective and pleasant.
3. The food was very good.
4. We arrived around 1:00 and there was not a wait.
5. Enjoyed the historic surroundings.

Someone commented how the hotel is a little worn around the edges. Even though I spent my time in the dining area, I could see how that is the case.

The next time I go to the area, I will make it a priority to eat there.

Oh, one more things: GREAT DESSERTS! How could I forget that!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paraclyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

After cancelling a much anticipated visit to Venice, Italy due to illness, we decided to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary closer to home. A friend suggested the Summit Inn. We were 11 in our party. My husband and me, daughter and son-in-law with their 8 year-old twins from Cleveland, and our other daughter, son-in-law and 3 boys, ages 14,13 and 9 from the Philadelphia area.

What a find! So very relaxing - - very low-key....sitting in the grand lobby in front of the huge fireplace. Cozy nooks and corners....tiffany lamps, comfy chairs, chess sets, puzzles, grand piano.
Wonderful Stickley style furniture. A real class act. One never felt crowded, just....at peace.

Being an historic landmark, everything was as it was back in 1905 when it first opened. That is what is so charming. It was like living in another era. Yes, the hallways are dated, the rooms have the floral wallpaper, there is no elevator (but what a grand stairway). All of this is what makes the Summit a very unique place.

There is an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, ping-pong, and a pool table. The children loved it. Our girls and their husbands have demanding jobs; the Summit was a lovely respite for them. A very fine restaurant with wonderful breakfasts (omelets are amazing)...all in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: One daughter had a very large, in fact huge, room. Two large beds, sleeper sofa and there was still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mormor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed three nights at the inn and found it quite charming. A step back into the 40’s or 50’s we did not miss the modern day amenities of a new hotel. Great restaurant, beautiful lobby with fireplace and ample chairs to read, talk or play a game of backgammon. If you want to put away your PDA and step into the slow lane this is the place for you (they do have WiFi in the main lobby but try to resist)

Room Tip: Get the valey view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonylexky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
15.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#6 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
23.2 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Summit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Summit Inn

Property: Historic Summit Inn
Address: 101 Skyline Drive, Farmington, PA 15437
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Summit Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1907, the Historic Summit Inn is one of the last remaining grand porch hotels. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places and with Stunning mountain views. Offers both indoor and outdoor dining and a full service bar and lounge. Whether you are on a romantic vacation for two or attending an event here you will find plenty to enjoy. Enjoy an afternoon at our indoor or outdoor pool or at our nine hole golf course where guests golf for free. Located near Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Moments from Lady Luck Casino and Ohiopyle River Rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Historic Summit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Summit Hotel Farmington
Historic Summit Resort
Summit Farmington
Farmington Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing