We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic is code for mean worn out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Summit Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently stayed here while on a business trip. Let me start by stating that the staff are very nice. This hotel boasts that it is one of Americas "Grand Hotels". It may have been back in the 20s, 30s an even the 40s. Now it is a tired and worn hotel. I have stayed in historic hotels in Yellowstone and Yosemite and they are much nicer. There is no elevator, there is no internet in the rooms, there are no even floors, the baseboards are chipped, the walls have scuffs, the door jams are warped, I found socks in my drawer, I found candy wrappers on the floor, I found several bobby pins on the floor, You hear semi rigs airbrakes going down the grade all night long, and during my stay the restaurant was closed for the season. I know for a fact that you can remodel and still stay true to the period instead of slapping yet another coat of paint on, but this requires an investment and some give darn. I would not stay again. While it wasn't horrible it did fall very short of my expectations.

Room Tip: Stay at the Nemacolin Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Historic Summit Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I will be sure to share your experience with our housekeeping department so we may improve for future guests. We work hard to balance our restoration efforts with the preservation and maintenance of the historic property. Your comments are important and we will strive to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We're the folks who can't miss an historic stop (this one is worth it!!). We were on our way back from the D.C. area via automobile, and decided to take old US Route 40, instead of the Interstate. Good choice!!

We mapped it out so that we would have an overnight in Farmington, which is very close to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Even if we weren't interested in seeing those Frank Lloyd Wright houses, this stop would have still been on our list.

It's a feat of architecture, especially when you consider when it was built: turn of the Century. It's perched on the edge of the Allegheny Mountain that overlooks Uniontown, Pennsylvania, in the valley below. The vista is absolutely breathtaking - any time of year is gorgeous! Our stop this time was during July.

It was hot outdoors in July, but there is an indoor pool with floor to ceiling windows and doors also overlooking the valley. The outdoor pool was being renovated (brand new since 1924, when it was the World's First Outdoor Olympic Size pool). it's heated now - thanks to the long summer of work. What a great update!!

Any visit to the Historic Summit Inn could be enjoyed without ever leaving the grounds. There is a great restaurant, and the food is better than average. The best part about dining there, is the huge 2-story veranda! You will see one of the best sunsets EVER, from that spot!

The staff at the Inn are accommodating and kind. We paid extra for our little dog to stay with us. There are a few rooms dedicated to this type of 'family travel,' and the staff was helpful and kind about his occupancy.

They also helped guide us to Fallingwater, and to a few other eating establishments. They answered our many questions about the history of the town, and the Inn. We appreciated their assistance.

Only one notable and unfavorable experience here: We were enjoying breakfast in their Dining Room, when a Server sprayed a chemical product at a nearby table. Even for people without respiratory conditions, this was a big No-No.

A sudden respiratory attack ruined our meal, and we had to abandon our food. There was no real apology from the wait staff, only shock. Sadly, they probably didn't realize how dangerous those products can be.

Fortunately, the Front Desk personnel came to our aid. They allowed us a later Check-Out time, due to the fact that we needed to use our portable nebulizer, etc. They apologized profusely when we were finally leaving, and even suggested that they would address the issue with Management, and try to find a long-term solution to that problem.

A simple bottle of water and vinegar, or sanitizer, is much less dangerous than Windex or other harsh chemical products. Thank you for considering this.

Otherwise, we had a very nice and memorable stay at the Historic Summit Inn. The food was good, the rooms were adequate (they're old, accept that), and the warmth and history filling the main areas are worth every penny spent here.

If you're able and willing, stop and stay here. Be prepared to immerse yourself in a time gone-by. The Inn might cause you to slow down, read a book, or just take a nice nap after feasting your eyes on the beauty of your surroundings. Make sure to read up on this place -- it has a lot of claim to fame!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lauramaymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Historic Summit Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look into alternative cleaning methods in the dining areas and look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We selected this hotel after an online search for places near Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. There are no elevators so those with mobility limitations should inquire about first floor rooms. Views are spectacular especially with the autumn foliage. There are numerous outdoor porches, but the temperatures were too cold to enjoy them. The room was average. Bathroom and sink areas were small and dimly lit. Walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Note: No elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CCS_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Summit Hotel during a visit to Fallingwater. We found the property charming, the staff very helpful and friendly and the food pretty good. We asked for a quiet room and got one in the rear of the building away from traffic noise. A hotel highlight is the great view from the terraces - if you are lucky enough to find an empty chair to view the sunset.

Room Tip: Rear of the building away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ejm1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We planned a trip through PA the beginning of October and stayed one night at this Inn and we were so glad it was just one night. We had booked and paid extra for an 'updated' room. The room did not seem very updated at all. The carpet showed wear and smelled, some of the furniture veneer was cracked, the lighting in the room was very dim. I know this is a historic place but that doesn't mean they can't upgrade some. Our room was full of stink bugs that could have been cleaned up before we got to our room. It gave us the feeling that this room had not been used in a while. They came and cleaned (the best they could I guess, we still had bugs) and we tried to make the best of it.The property/porch is nice for sitting and reading if the weather is ok. We were trying to make it an adventure so we tried to overlook the fact that the room had one chair only and was drab looking. The next day we were headed to Falling Rock at Nemacolin so we decided not to shower in the very small (we understand that these old historic places have small bathrooms) and not very clean shower and wait till we got to Nemacolin. Small bathroom I get, not clean and not having the water stopper in the bottom of tub was not acceptable. Well it was time for dinner at the Inns restaurant, OMG again we felt like a slap in the face, We sat for 20 mins and NOBODY even looked at us. We were celebrating our 24th anniversary and nothing! Finally my husband called over someone and she was not our server, she was very nice and apologized and said she would help us. She took our order and the girl that was supposed to help us came by as well. Dinner was cold and tasteless, at this point we we just wanted to go to bed, get a good night sleep and look forward to Nemacoiln. They were always nice here but that didn't make up for lack of effort. We got to or room and decided to just go to bed and get up early and leave since there was only one chair and no internet and we couldn't sit n bed and read so we went to sleep...well we got it in bed. Nooooooo I almost cried. The bed was so old and we both sunk to the middle and really tried to find a way to work our way to our respective ends of the bed to try to sleep, but kept sliding to the middle and sinking. The mattress was so soft and old, we both were up all night, listening to the trucks going by. They charged us almost $300 for this mess and it was just ridicules. I can see maybe $100 for a place like this but I don't care how old it is if you cant sleep, and the shower is dirty (as well as the room) and only one chair, their was zero comfort in the entire place except for the chairs out front (thank god it was a nice day out). Well, needless to say we were up all night and they were nice about adjusting the price some (not nearly enough for what we got). We chalked this up to an experience and talked on our way how the Historic Summit Inn was a wonderful piece of property with great views if they would just upgrade the room, add more seating, remove carpets and NEW BEDS they would have a place worth another try. They are upgrading the outside (new pool and hot tub ) but I think the real work is needed inside. Also, they need to train their restaurant help before putting them on the floor alone. I wish this place luck, but it was a bad start to our adventure. I gave this place 2 starts mainly because of the horrible bed and the lack comfortable seating (besides the desk) sitting at the desk is not a good option while they are trying to relax. They did not offer coffee in the rooms you had to go down MANY flights of steep stairs to get your morning coffee. I am surprised by the many good reviews. I understand this is an historic and because of this has some quirks, but I still stand by the fact that the bed and furnishings in the room should give comfort for what is charged. The most important part of any stay is a comfortable bed (at least one that doesn't have lumps and bumps where you sink in the middle)

Room Tip: I would not sleep here until they get new beds. Our room was an upgrade, I'm afraid what a regul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for two nights over an October weekend. We appreciated that this an over 100 year old historic property with a very interesting history. It has a beautiful view from the comfortable front porch (in good weather). The lobby is very charming with a real fireplace and comfy chairs. We had booked and paid extra for an 'updated' room. The room did not seem very updated at all. The carpet showed wear, some of the furniture veneer was cracked, the lighting in the room was very dim, the bathroom was very tight with a towel bar hidden up under the curtains. There was no soap or tissues in the room but the front desk apologized and we got them promptly. The bed was only so-so. Be aware that there is no elevator. We had two good breakfasts in the on-site restaurant--an omelet one day and the homemade granola another. Overall, it was a bit disappointing for the price we paid but the location was a good base for exploring the sites we came to see--the two Frank Lloyd Wright houses, Ohiopyle State Park and dinner at the local winery.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vakamalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days at The Summit Inn. I don't remember ever being so relaxed. Between the beautiful views from the porches and the wood burning fireplace in the lobby, the scene was set. The Summit is a historic hotel and that's what gives it its charm. It is a classic! The staff was friendly, the environment warm and welcoming, the owner present and charming....I could go on and on. I highly recommend getting away from the hustle and bustle and going back in time to a more gracious period.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top of the stairs. The view is great, the rooms are more spacious and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetagitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
573 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
142 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
7.1 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
#1 of 1 in Chalk Hill
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Summit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Summit Inn

Address: 101 Skyline Dr, Farmington, PA 15437-1140
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range: £90 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Summit Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1907, the Historic Summit Inn is one of the last remaining grand porch hotels. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places and with Stunning mountain views. Offers both indoor and outdoor dining and a full service bar and lounge. Whether you are on a romantic vacation for two or attending an event here you will find plenty to enjoy. Enjoy an afternoon at our indoor or outdoor pool or at our nine hole golf course where guests golf for free. Located near Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Moments from Lady Luck Casino and Ohiopyle River Rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Summit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Summit Hotel Farmington
Historic Summit Resort
Summit Farmington
Farmington Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing