We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Summit Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 21 July 2005

The lobby and pool are nice. The rooms are in much need of updating.
Shag carpeting, pink bathroom fixtures. No amenities. Very very pricey for what you receive.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Florence0948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    143
    72
    49
    25
See reviews for
83
219
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2005

My husband and I stayed 2 weekdays in June 2005. We paid $409.00 for 2 nights, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, and tours of Kentuk Knob and Fallingwater (ground tour only- no inside tour). The room on the third floor was up many, many steps, but we didn't mind the exercise. The view from our room was great! (10 county view). The room was a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. I wasn't expecting too much from the food, but was pleasantly surprised. The tuna and duck were great, and the view from the outdoor dining deck was beautiful- the sun set just as we were finishing dinner. Their huge outdoor pool was sparkling clean but quite cold. We didn't go into the indoor pool, but checked out the game room only to be disappointed by the lack of pool balls and ping pong balls. We met some friendly people from around the area, although there was one loud, foul mothed, obnoxious father by the outdoor pool one day, swearing at his teenage son and anyone else around. Other that him everyone was nice and the staff very friendly. I would go there again- maybe in the fall when the trees are changing.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smm1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 October 2004

I had a one-night stay at the historic Summit Inn on October 14, 2004. As mentioned by other TripAdvisor reviewers, the public areas of the hotel are very quaint and charming. The location in the Laurel Highlands outside of Pittsburgh offered a vista that was quite stunning. I can see why the resort would attract a lot of patrons in the summer, when the Olympic-sized pool, volleyball and tennis courts, and other outside attractions are in use.

However, having visited in the autumn, my impressions were focused on the queen-sized room, which was small and less than luxurious. The furniture reminded me of a chain motel, it took a considerable amount of time for the hot water to flow in the bathroom, and standard amentities (such as a hair dryer and iron) that you would expect from a hotel this price weren't provided. Several surrounding rooms in our wing had been vacated, but hadn't been cleaned by housekeeping (even by the overnight hours) and since the doors were open the disarray was visible.

As there are other more hospitable hotels and bed-and-breakfast inns in the area, I most likely would not stay here again.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farmington hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2004

Just returned from the Summit Inn where we enjoyed 2 nights under the "Wright Package".
The view with the trees changing was outstanding!
The staff was very friendly and made you feel "at home". The food was very, very good and the service was excellent. The prime rib and filet were outstanding!!
We will be back.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 September 2003

I thought that the hotel was very nice. It has all of the charm of old places. I love them. It is a little pricey, but i just love all of the oldness. The grand staircase is something to see. This hotel has a very homey feeling to it. It is also rather large. The dining room has a massive fireplace which is very nice. If you would like to possibly get a little thrill, i suggest going down to the game room/vending machine area on the lower floor alone late at night, Unlike the other reviewer on this hotel, i did hear voices that could not have come from anybody down there, for i was alone. (I checked) kind of spooky. I didn't go back down there again. Other than that everything was fine and I would stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 September 2003

Frankly I just love it there. I'm an antique buff and that area has alot to offer. It's one of the most spectacular views... we really enjoy the view from the outdoor spa the best! They even offer high tea on their veranda! It's not updated.. it's an old victorian mansion..
they actually say it's haunted.. but we didn't see anything. I've stayed there 5 different times. It's a different experience and one to be enjoyed!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 August 2003

I stayed at the Mount Summit Inn several years ago now and just had a great time. The accomodations are great and I love the vibe of the place. Great views form the top. Hiking, rafting, attractions near by.
The whole place kind of has a dated appeal(60's-70's), even though everything is in excellent condition. I mean this in a very good way.
The bar area is really neat with 100's of pennies laquered into it. I plan on going back next year to do some rafting, backpacking on the Laurel Highlands Trail, and to see Falling Water.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
15.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
23.2 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Summit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Summit Inn

Property: Historic Summit Inn
Address: 101 Skyline Dr, Farmington, PA 15437-1140
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Summit Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1907, the Historic Summit Inn is one of the last remaining grand porch hotels. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places and with Stunning mountain views. Offers both indoor and outdoor dining and a full service bar and lounge. Whether you are on a romantic vacation for two or attending an event here you will find plenty to enjoy. Enjoy an afternoon at our indoor or outdoor pool or at our nine hole golf course where guests golf for free. Located near Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Moments from Lady Luck Casino and Ohiopyle River Rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Summit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Summit Hotel Farmington
Historic Summit Resort
Summit Farmington
Farmington Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing