We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Historic Summit Inn
Nearby Hotels
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort(Farmington)(Great Value!)
US$326
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Uniontown(Uniontown)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
142
160
79
53
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
160
79
53
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfalling wateroutdoor poolgrand porchcrab cakesthe chicken pot piefrank lloyd wrightfront porchhuge fireplacepiece of historykentuck knobping pongrocking chairslaurel cavernsnational roadwhite water raftingfort necessityrooms are comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2005

The Summit is a wonderful place to stay. The views are lovely, the atmosphere is warm, inviting, and comfortable. The management does all it can to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are updated and well-appointed. My family have been guests at the Summit over many years. The new owners have done a terrific job in updating the rooms yet leaving the old-time charm of the public spaces intact. My family has had both reunions and wedding receptions here, and it was an ideal location for both. The food is quite good, and the service is also good. In fact, one friend who stayed at the Summit with us went to a nearby posh resort for dinner one night and said that she wished she had remained at the Summit for dinner. Another advantage to the Summit is that it is near many interesting places: Fallingwater, Kentuck Knob, Ohiopyle, Fort Necessity, the Allegheny Passage bike trail at Ohiopyle (fantastic!!), and Touchstone. The Summit has a couple of drawbacks, such as no elevator, but there are rooms on the first floor. Also, it can be a bit noisy, as it is an old place, and a bit creaky. However, neither of these things have really been a problem, and since we love older places, we will always choose to stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Patsykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2005

The lobby and pool are nice. The rooms are in much need of updating.
Shag carpeting, pink bathroom fixtures. No amenities. Very very pricey for what you receive.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Florence0948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2005

My husband and I stayed 2 weekdays in June 2005. We paid $409.00 for 2 nights, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, and tours of Kentuk Knob and Fallingwater (ground tour only- no inside tour). The room on the third floor was up many, many steps, but we didn't mind the exercise. The view from our room was great! (10 county view). The room was a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. I wasn't expecting too much from the food, but was pleasantly surprised. The tuna and duck were great, and the view from the outdoor dining deck was beautiful- the sun set just as we were finishing dinner. Their huge outdoor pool was sparkling clean but quite cold. We didn't go into the indoor pool, but checked out the game room only to be disappointed by the lack of pool balls and ping pong balls. We met some friendly people from around the area, although there was one loud, foul mothed, obnoxious father by the outdoor pool one day, swearing at his teenage son and anyone else around. Other that him everyone was nice and the staff very friendly. I would go there again- maybe in the fall when the trees are changing.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smm1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
216
Reviewed 20 October 2004

I had a one-night stay at the historic Summit Inn on October 14, 2004. As mentioned by other TripAdvisor reviewers, the public areas of the hotel are very quaint and charming. The location in the Laurel Highlands outside of Pittsburgh offered a vista that was quite stunning. I can see why the resort would attract a lot of patrons in the summer, when the Olympic-sized pool, volleyball and tennis courts, and other outside attractions are in use.

However, having visited in the autumn, my impressions were focused on the queen-sized room, which was small and less than luxurious. The furniture reminded me of a chain motel, it took a considerable amount of time for the hot water to flow in the bathroom, and standard amentities (such as a hair dryer and iron) that you would expect from a hotel this price weren't provided. Several surrounding rooms in our wing had been vacated, but hadn't been cleaned by housekeeping (even by the overnight hours) and since the doors were open the disarray was visible.

As there are other more hospitable hotels and bed-and-breakfast inns in the area, I most likely would not stay here again.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
columbus, oh
15
Reviewed 16 October 2004

Just returned from the Summit Inn where we enjoyed 2 nights under the "Wright Package".
The view with the trees changing was outstanding!
The staff was very friendly and made you feel "at home". The food was very, very good and the service was excellent. The prime rib and filet were outstanding!!
We will be back.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews