We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour”

Architectural Tours of Savannah
Ranked #1 of 145 Tours in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You don't have to be an architect to enjoy the Architectural Tours of Savannah with Jonathan Stalcup. He is author and holds a Master of Architecture degree from SCAD. Jonathan not only knows his stuff design-wise, he makes it really easy for the average tourist to understand how Savannah was born and grew into the beautiful and beautifully singular city it is. He not only stops and points, he brings along visual aids to help you understand how a particular building or square evolved. You won't be bored or even tired- the tour progresses (and walks) through hundreds of years of history at leisurely pace.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Jonathan provided an excellent tour of Savannah's architectural gems - informative, educational, and very interesting. I really enjoyed seeing the progression of the architectural styles in Savannah. Without the tour, I know that I would have never noticed that progression.

As someone who is interested in architecture but not overly educated on the subject - I found that Jonathan explained things perfectly and used easy to understand terminology. It's one of those tours where you silently say "I didn't know that" - which is a good thing when you are taking a tour.
Highly recommended...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxury1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Jonathan is a great tour guide. He is knowledgeable and friendly. He was very patient, answering all of our questions. I highly recommend his tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wallstreetredbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Architectural tour with Jonathan was great!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Jonathan Stalcup is a very nice knowledgeable guide. He studied at SCAD, and knows his subject in and out. It's a nice walking tour around the historical district. Jonathan keeps it in a chronological order, and it's fascinating to see how the architecture and taste changed over fairly short period of time, how Savannah buildings were influenced by European trends etc. Highly recommended tour for Savannah.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I took this tour in june 2014. Jonathan is an excellent tour guide and does a wonderful job of explaining Savannah's history through its architecture. Don't waste your time with the superficial and expensive trolley tours. This is well worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just as awesome the second time”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went on this tour a year ago during our first trip to Savannah. It was a great way to start our time in Savannah - doing it again this year was smart. Jonathan tells you so much about the city's history, growth and development. The tour is great for anyone - architectural buff/student, historian, or just tourist. Jonathan is an awesome story teller and keeps everyone's interest the entire time. Great tour, great price, great start to your week!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Architectural Tours of Savannah also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Architectural Tours of Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing