We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See”

Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Segway Tour of Savannah
More Info
US$31.00*
and up
Historic On and Off Trolley Tour of Savannah
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #2 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The oldest Roman Catholic church in Georgia.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we were lucky to visit and see the students from next door all girls school practice for the Christmas show...it was awesome to hear them sing in such a wonder church..we were blessed

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,676
    979
    141
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a must see or travelers”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I have carried 6 different friend and family members here and they all have the same reaction. First their jaws drop, they all say WOW, and then they say" you told me it is beautiful, but I didn't think it would be like this..Hey folks, it is free, it is stunning and in a city full of beauty i would highly advise you to check this one out. One of my favorite places

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tom24527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Magnificent Cathedral”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I struggle to find words to describe this cathedral. Historic, ornate, majestic. Walls are covered in murals, columns are finished with gold leaf. Beautiful stations of the cross. Grand old organ. A must see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BillM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Ironic..filming "welcome home Catholics" but it was closed!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went there twice since it was highly recommended. No signs, no explanation, but a person setting up boxes on the steps said they were preparing for a film. Someone said it was to welcome home Catholics....but we did not feel very welcome. several others were also walking around, bewildered, wondering how to get in. Two days of this, then we gave up. No signs, no apology just a sign for "film crew parking".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The most beautiful cathedral on the East Coast”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

There's nothing to dislike about this gorgeous place. I happen to be a Christian, but even if you aren't, you'll probably be floored. I regularly attended the National Cathedral in Washington as a child. I've attended the services in Mount St. Mary's in Maryland and St. John the Divine in Newport and toured churches and synagogues in Montreal and New England. We were married at the second oldest church in America. But when my husband and I stepped foot in the cathedral, we suddenly stopped our conversation. That's how breathtaking it is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral of St. John the Baptist also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Cathedral of St. John the Baptist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing