We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthy stop for fans of southern literature.”

Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home
Ranked #57 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Where writer Flannery O'Connor spent her childhood, during the Great Depression on Savannah's LaFayette Square. Off-hour, group, and private tours are available by request.
2 reviews
“A worthy stop for fans of southern literature.”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

A great stop for fans of southern literature. Flannery O'Connor's stories are not for the faint of heart. The excellent & knowledgeable tour guide gave helpful insight into her life and writings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Btluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    30
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
“Big Fan”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great little house in a beautiful square. The price and location were perfect. The house was tiny in what I had always imagined. I loved the bedrooms and how simple everything was laid out. I was ready to write a book while I was there. I will spread the word. Nice visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We were skeptical about whether or not this would be worth our time. After all, Flannery spent only her childhood here. However, it turned out to be a great visit. We happened to be the only visitors while we were there, so we got a private guided tour through the house by a very knowledgeable gentleman who knew a lot about both Flannery and her writing. Understanding her childhood a little bit better gives me new insights into her work. For example, the proximity of the home to the Catholic church, which could be seen through the upstairs windows, helped me see how Catholicism has such an impact on her writing. I'm very glad we stopped by.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PassingThrough00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tifton, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed Jewel in Savannah!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

For Flannery O'Connor fans, this is a MUST SEE!! Don't miss this this visitor friendly museum which offers many personal glimpses into the early life of one of the world's most unique writers. Toby, the in-residence tour guide perfectly captures the writer's personality and shares such charming tales of this gifted and eccentric writer that even if you've never read O'Connor before, you will read her when you leave!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very interesting insights into a well known Southern writer.”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

"In the long run, a people is known, not by its statements or its statistics, but by the stories it tells." ~ Flannery O'Connor.

Toby is engaging as an in-residence tour guide and does an exceptional job of making the house come alive by sharing insights into the childhood relationships and experiences that shaped Flannery O'Connor's writing. While there I bought a copy of her novel "The Violent Bear It Away". So glad we just happened to find The house. It is across LaFayette Square from the Cathedral of St John The Baptist. Simple restoration of the house as it would have looked when she lived there in the 30's, but the stories that Toby tells make it worth the visit. $6.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcbatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing