We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place to sleep and shower, free parking, great location and price!”
Review of Savannah River Inn

Savannah River Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savannah River Inn
Ranked #78 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean place to sleep and shower, free parking, great location and price!”
Reviewed 15 November 2009

I stayed here with my teenage daughter while visiting Georgia Southern University. This hotel was located right behind River street and was in walking distance to everything. The room was clean, vacuumed, no moldy shower curtains, great water pressure. The staff was nice, especially Neil, who helped me out with a parking issue. The parking is free and they are constantly towing cars that dont belong in the lot to assure visitors that they always have a parking spot. I have only nice things to say about the hotel and staff, however, if someone stops to visit you, their car could be towed within minutes and the impound lot is in the worst section of town. This motel is worth the price paid for the location. As far as safety, you have yo use common sense. Dont walk alone and be aware of your surroundings. The motel itself was very safe in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori07Phila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked a room here thinking we were getting such a deal. We actually canceled a reservation at another hotel. Big mistake! The photo they have on their site and all the travel sites...not theirs! It is for the Best Western which they used to be affiliated with and no longer are. However, the two locations (located across the street from each other) share staff. And it is clear that the staff's priority is the Best Western. We were there for 7 nights. 4 of the 7 we actually had to request housekeeping tend to our room. There was a hole in the wall behind the door and one of the locks on the door did not work and we had to request it be fixed. The tub in the bathroom had chipped paint and the shower could not be turned on full force or the shower curtain would attack you - so with the shower running on low it meant the faucet was running as well and it filled the tub with water. There is no free wifi as that is also part of the Best Western and not the Savannah River Inn. Total false advertising.

The only thing this place had to offer was a convenient location at a cheaper price. But the price was not worth it! Once we were there we had no real choice to move locations as we had budgeted our trip based on the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhmcconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Savannah hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed here after dropping my stepkids off with their mother. We met halfway between VA and FL and decided to spend a night in Savannah and go to Paula Deen's restaurant. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and it was ideal for the money we paid. It's within walking distance of River Street and the great shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaristKKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We went to Savannah to attend a wedding. The bride and groom suggested this place because of it's convenience to the reception location. There were actually at least three other hotels that were also convenient to the repection location and they were cleaner. There was blood on the bathroom walls and there were ants all over the room. The carpet had not been cleaned since 1981. At 1:00am you could still hear the traffic and music blarring from a block away. Not to mention it was in a dark location that did not seem safe. There was nothing relaxing or comforting about this room. You get what you pay for. Next time before I listen to someone suggesting a hotel, I will do more research.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I read a lot of reviews and was a little weary about the hotel. However, once I got there I was pleasantly suprised. The hotel itself is older and the rooms are small, but we were just looking for a place to lay our head at night. The bathrooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the location was out of this world. If you're looking for a high-class hotel, this is not it. But if you're looking to save money and still get a hotel right next to River Street and a clean bed, this is definitely the spot. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conversesweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My wife and I stayed here in May for a week. We booked on Hotwire and were pleasantly suprised with the hotel. Our room was spacious and included a king size bed, plasma tv, bar fridge, separate shower/bath/toilet and air conditioner. There was also a separate coffee table set up with two chairs. No continental breakfast was included although a coffee machine was at reception. There was also a coin operated soft drink machine near available within the hotel complex. There was a pool available for use but it was too cold to use when we were there. There are better located hotels than this but the historic quarter is only small in any case and basically on the doorstep of the hotel, this hotel is near the river which was good. No internet access however I used the internet at the public library which is a 5 minute walk away. The only supermarket nearby is a 20 or so minute walk away but there are plenty of restaurants, fast food options nearby. I would definitely stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau_and_Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullman alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My sister and I stayed here, she has a small dog, and it's had to find a decent place to stay that accepts pets. No extra charge for pets ( under 20 pounds ). Parking was free, rooms were clean, price was good considering how close it was to everything . There is no view but we were1 block from the river front. We would stay here again!!!.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lstancil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#22 of 113 in Savannah
1,105 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah River Inn

Property: Savannah River Inn
Address: 412 Williamson St, Savannah, GA 31401-1176
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Hotel Class:2 star — Savannah River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Savannah River Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing