We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reynolds Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reynolds Square

Reynolds Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil Walking Tour of Savannah
Ranked #80 of 210 things to do in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City square with a statue of John Wesley and the Lucas Theater, which is being restored to its architectural glory of the 1920s.
Zeeland, MI
Level Contributor
497 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Reynolds Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We knew there was a statue of John Wesley in one of the many Savannah squares and we wanted to find it. As it turned out, we did not have to look very long since Reynolds Square is where our 10:30 tour began. Every square has its own "personality" and Reynolds square is no exception. The beautiful trees, the nearby Pink House and the historical markers telling John Wesley's story makes this square unique.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeelandScoutMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reynolds Square has it going on...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

What's not to like? Standing in John Wesley's shadow, one can see the Pink House, the Lucas Theatre, listen to the gentle notes from a nearby saxophone performer... Ice Cream from Leopold's a block away, sit and enjoy watching the carriages clip-clopping by, or the people coming and going... Rexalation is right here, come get it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,715 reviews
1,308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
“Favorite Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I enjoyed this square. Very Beautiful. the Wesley statue is great. Also the wonderful looking Pink House is stunning. This square seemed to be where the walking tours started. I a lot of guides there. I loved the interesting trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to sit and listen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed sitting and listening to the violinist to played for the Alabama Symphony. He works by day then volunteers his talent by playing in the park. Wow, what a gift to those who choose to listen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bcolvin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty, but not the most scenic square . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

As we stayed at a hotel across the street from this square, we had opportunity to experience it both during the daytime and evening. It was lovely and relaxing, as are all of the squares in the historic district of Savannah seemingly. However, its focal point, the John Wesley (founder of Methodism) statue was, perhaps, not as interesting, or as scenic as those of other squares. I preferred the ones with a fountain in the center and oak trees draped with Spanish moss--love the moss!!! Reynolds Square is, I believe, the only square with no moss on the trees. It seemed to be a safe spot to enjoy sitting a spell--day, or night. Musicians do tend to hang out there and one day there was a man playing flute. It is also common to hear a saxophonist playing there in the evening--generally after 7 p.m., or so. He was somewhat entertaining, though not outstanding, and did attempt to take requests. I also noticed that the tour guides do include Reynolds Square on their walking tour. I'm not sure, but it might have something to do with THAT BOOK--you, know the one, but I've not read it. One of the best things about it, was that we didn't see Paula Dean in the square--not once!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reynolds Square also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing