We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting historical house”

Davenport House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #20 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Federal-style home of master builder Isaiah Davenport restored to its early 19th century beauty. Owned and operated by Historic Savannah Foundation.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
713 reviews
301 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“Interesting historical house”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Davenport House is a historic home located in the historic section of Savannah. It is credited as starting the preservation movement in Savannah. The house was built by Isaiah Davenport, a carpenter, back in around 1820. There is plenty of parking located along the streets, as well as it being in walking distance of a lot of the lodging in the area, so it is a convenient place to visit. In order to walk through the house you will need to take part in a tour. Tickets are purchased in the museum store.

The museum’s general admission charge is $9, with active duty military and senior citizens receiving a 10% discount. There is also a pass that you can purchase for several historic homes in the area. If you plan on visiting several historic homes, the pass would be worth it as you will spend a lot of money if tickets are purchased separately. Tours are provided by a guide throughout the day and reservations are not necessary. I don’t know how often they occur, but the size is kept to a manageable level allowing you to move freely in the house without being too crowded. Photography, like in all of the historic homes, is not permitted inside.

The house itself was built in the Federalist style by an individual who had no architectural background. However the home’s design would become a model for many homes in Savannah and referenced as being in the “Davenport” style. You get a chance to walk through most of the house and view the various antiques, structural designs and other interesting features. There are items that belonged to Davenport as well as others that were found during that era. While the Davenport name might not be that well known, the Davenport House is definitely one that stands out in historic Savannah. The house has a storied history, both during prosperous and not so prosperous times which you will learn during the tour. It served as a boarding house for a time where it was essentially gutted, so seeing in its current condition required extensive renovation.

If you are looking for a place to visit in Savannah, I would recommend the Davenport House as being one of the first homes that you visit. It will help you in understanding how and why the historic homes were preserved.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    168
    46
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
479 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Davenport was a builder and he built this home. Architecture in the "company/client" rooms were amazing. They are still working on restoring the "basement kitchen/slave" area and soon will restore the attic when this house was used as a tenament..

Pictures are not allowed inside the building unfortunately.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieinsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Example of living in 1800s”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

One of many great places to tour while in Savannah. The home showed how the upper middle class lived. I was bummed that they restored everything except the slaves quarters. Isn't it also important to understand how enslaved Africans lived in the city of Savannah? That piece of history is often skipped. Our tour guide did a good job, but couldn't answer any questions about the home or family outside of the tour. FYI: This is not a tour for young children; it is for history buff and the curious visitor to Savannah.

Helpful?
3 Thank Najjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHDirector, Manager at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are delighted that you had a positive experience at the Davenport House Museum.

We wholeheartedly agree that gaining a better understanding of the lives of enslaved people in Savannah is important. The museum is still a work in progress. We’ve come a long way since our opening in 1963 (with only one floor restored) to our present two full story interpretation of life in the Davenport House in the 1820s. As a totally self supporting facility, our income is derived from admissions, rentals and donations. The interpretation of the Ground Floor, estimated at $500,000 is our next major project. It will include the physical restoration of the kitchen, storerooms and central rooms where daily chores would have been performed by enslaved people. The project will include a full interpretation of life in 1820 for the enslaved members of the Davenport Household. Until that time, our mission is to research, as much as possible and to share our knowledge with our staff and the community.

We are sorry you didn’t get all your questions answered on site and welcome the opportunity to do so personally.

Thank you again for visiting our home.

Jamie Credle
Director
Davenport House Museum
912.236.8097
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Davenport House Museum”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice home that shows how a very successful
craftsman/business owner lived. Can compare the size of his home and furnishings to how the very, very wealthy (Owens-Thomas) lived their everyday lives.
(ex. Davenport had about 9 house slaves and Owens
may not have had very many more house slaves but
they had over 600 slaves working the various plantations they owned.) Wallpaper in one of the
rooms is very unique. From across the hall, it appears
to be small sections of draped gold fabric that covers
all the walls.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had the opportunity to tour the house when no one else was there, so our guide was able to give us the one on one attention that you can not always get. She was very well versed and we learned a lot. One nice thing it that even though the house has some substantial stairs, they have had the foresight to place some chairs at the top so you can catch your breath.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RnLStuart_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Davenport House Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Davenport House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing