We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for Forrest!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chippewa Square

Chippewa Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Haunted History Tour Combo
Ranked #24 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many historic attractions are located at this city square, which is named for the Battle of Chippewa in the War of 1812.
albuquerque, nm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Looking for Forrest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Beautiful area, nice shops around the square. We went looking for Forrest Gump's bench only to find it was just a prop and not really there :( But the area has other benches lol. The area is fun to walk around in and the church is just a few blocks from there, that is a MUST do!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jjones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    98
    40
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Run Forrest Run!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

One of the many beautiful and picturesque squares in Savannah Georgia. Also the location where Forrest Gump's bench was supposed to have been for the movie. Being a fan of the movie I parked my motorcycle in front of the spot for a great photo op. My buddy did the same thing but in his excitement he forgot to put his kickstand down! He ended up dropping his full sized Harley touring bike on it's side right in front of where the bench would have been. We now refer to the incident as "The Gump Dump". (picture it when you're there! Lol)
Anyways, it's a beautiful location and there are guided tours and carriage rides available to highlight the area and it's interesting history. I think it's a must visit spot in the city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
816 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Bronze Statue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited most of the squares in Savannah and a few a not real fancy but most all have their own character with at least benches. This one has a nice bronze statue of General Oglethorpe in the center. Yes, I know this is Chippewa Square and there is a Oglethorpe Square but his monument is int his square. You will find out that there are many squares with monuments or statutes that do not match the name of the square they are located in even though there may be a square named for them. Crazy right:) It is very confusing and never did find out why that was done as most of these squares were established in the 1800's. There are shaded areas and information to read.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,606 reviews
1,086 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“One of the top four squares”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you only have time to visit a few squares, don't miss this one. The feature in the center is an impressive statue of Oglethorpe in a soldiers pose probably looking for Forrest Gump's bench. We found thar it was a prop even though there are plenty of benches in the park. Bummer! the west side of the park features three benches that are very inviting. As with all Savannah squares the perimeter offers as much to see as the square itself. Easy parking around the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Paying home to General Oglethorpe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The square honours an American victory at the Battle of Chippewa during the War of 1812, and is well known for its connection with the movie Forrest Gump (although the park bench created for the movie has been moved). I was more impressed with the statue of Oglethorpe standing guard in the centre of the square, sword drawn and facing Spanish Florida, ready to defend the city. Like all of Savannah's squares, it is a wonderful spot to rest, people watch and admire the scenery.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippewa Square also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Chippewa Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing