We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad to have seen it, but it needs work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green-Meldrim House

Green-Meldrim House
Ranked #49 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in Madison Square, this was the headquarters of General Sherman after he occupied Savannah in 1864.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Glad to have seen it, but it needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The home is lovely and has tremendous restoration potential. Worth the visit as long as your expectations aren't as big as mine were.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaJVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    47
    17
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great visit - no crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We loved that we could wander through the house without the crowd that there is at some of these historic homes. We had a great tour guide on the lower level, and then were able to wander through the upper level on our own. This is a beautiful home and much of it is still close to original condition. The emphasis has been on restoration, and keeping the history of the home in tact.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank richandtrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sherman stayed here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The guides inside were well-informed, friendly, and the house had more brick a brack than I have ever seen before.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrific Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The ladies that show you around this wonderful old house are really full on knowledge and obviously enjoy sharing all of their knowledge with the guests. Don't miss this visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry98027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were exploring historic Savannah and discovered the Green-Meldrim house while checking our churches. This house was purchased by the Episcopal Church and the tour was free. The ladies providing the tours were engaging and very knowledgeable about the history of the house. If you enjoy history and architecture, this is a great tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green-Meldrim House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Green-Meldrim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing