We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Architecture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green-Meldrim House

Green-Meldrim House
Ranked #47 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in Madison Square, this was the headquarters of General Sherman after he occupied Savannah in 1864.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This house was absolutely beautiful. It is now owned by the Episcopal church located next door. The guides for this house were very informative and really nice. This was my favorite house we toured.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennifer i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    47
    17
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
466 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Tour and house average in comparison to others”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We toured this house and felt it just hasn't found its theme to explore and present to the public. One would have guessed it would focus heavily on Sherman but that was not the case. Also, the house is filled with donations that are not period or even cohesive so the tour just didn't make sense to us. The house is beautiful and has potential but needs direction (we hope in the future they model after Owens -Thomas or Davenport house tours that were excellent).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best house to tour in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We totally loved this tour. The ladies who took us on the tour were so very sweet and informative. This house is remarkably kept and is a must see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located on Madison Square, this beautiful home was built in 1850 for the huge (for then) sum of $93,000. The house is well worth seeing for the architecture alone: gothic features including a crenellated roof, while the interior contains Carrara marble mantels, and black walnut woodwork. The history of the home is equally interesting, as Sherman and his officers stayed here during the March to the Sea (visitors can see the room and office where Sherman stayed). The building has been owned by the neighbouring St John's Episcopal Church since the 1940s, and is frequently used for church functions (wedding, teas, etc),. The impression given is more of a well loved and well tended family home rather than a "look but don't touch" historic home, and visitors are encouraged to have a 'close up' view of the period furniture and paintings. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly ... in fact, probably the most pleasant and welcoming I have encountered during countless historic home tours in both North America and Europe. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The history of this house was the only thing worthwhile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Yes, the Green-Meldrim House is filled with interesting history but the tour was poor. We had time for one additional house tour before we left town and the Green-Meldrim House tour was recommended. Unfortunately, we went on this tour rather than the Owen-Thomas House tour. A mistake. On the other hand, the Andrew Low House tour was very interesting and well done. I also enjoyed the Mercer Williams House tour. Be sure to go on the Bonaventure Cemetery tour with Dash Tours - another highlight of my visit to beautiful Savannah.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green-Meldrim House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Green-Meldrim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing