We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diversion in windy beach day!”

Oatland Island Wildlife Center
Ranked #18 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located 15 minutes southeast of downtown Savannah, this is an environmental education center where you can learn about local wildlife and native plants.There are lots of programs for children.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great diversion in windy beach day!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We took our five kids to visit on a windy day down in Tybee Island. The park was very rustic and had great natural habitats. We had a nice lunch in the picnic area. The trails were well maintained and it was fun to explore through the park. The entrance fee was very reasonable and there were no crowds. Don't forget the big spray, there were tons of Mosquitos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IIMFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    135
    38
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Nice shady flat nature walk for hot and sunny days. Bring the bug spray and the water to hydrate to enjoy the sights this place will give you. Enjoy the plants, trees, and animals while getting great exercise as you go from one site to another. Need something to do with the kids for three hours with lots of exercise and education? This is the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kokopuffMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Value in Town”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The admission is very low, $5 adult and $3 military. There was a wide varity of animals. The bobcat and cougar were my favorite. There are many birds of prey. We missed the wolves as we went towards the afternoon and it was a bit hot. I think they may be lore active in the morning when it's not so hot. The walking paths are cover with a canopy of trees and even though it was hot degree wise, it was shady and pleasant. I woul suggest bug spray as there are some ponds and marsh land that had mosquitoes. I am definitely planning on revisiting!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacy12345789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is an interesting way to learn about the natural environment of Savannah. This area is sub-tropical which is a very different part of the Southeast. Good exhibits and programs for all ages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravlinShoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Be prepared to walk.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Lots of walking here through the woods to get to a very few exhibits. The animals and birds here were well cared for. I would think it would be better when the weather is cooler.
I would go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oatland Island Wildlife Center also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Oatland Island Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing