We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It rained and it was still great”

Oatland Island Wildlife Center
Ranked #18 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located 15 minutes southeast of downtown Savannah, this is an environmental education center where you can learn about local wildlife and native plants.There are lots of programs for children.
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It rained and it was still great”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful time watching the wolves and walking the trails. The staff are very helpful and friendly, would definitely come back. Even though it was pouring with rain, the tree canopy was a good shelter and we had umbrellas. The weather certainly didn't detract from the overall experience though.

Helpful?
1 Thank F112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    135
    38
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo in natural habitat”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The walking trail through the marsh and Spanish miss-draped woods is nice by itself. The displays of animals blend right in to the environment. Bring bug spray!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DraLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed it soooo much. Lots of walking, but can't wait to come back when they have some new exhibits.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BriBri1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“Hosted Our Symposium”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Visited because of a work-related symposium, but greatly enjoyed the time we spent there. Lots of animals on display as well as wild residents walking about. The gnats were out full-force when the wind died down, but nothing a little bug spray couldn't fix. Will definitely return for the full experience at a later date!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nkp563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very fascinatings”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We like to go by there when we visit Savannah. They have a variety of animals they rehabilitate. Some stay on in a habitat that is very much like their natural one. We enjoyed watching the panther play with his ball. We got to see the foxes on this last trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassysfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oatland Island Wildlife Center also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Oatland Island Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing