We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little start”

Massie Heritage Center
Ranked #46 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Massie Heritage Center should be your first stop in Georgia's first city! Massie provides the best orientation for your visit with a 3D model of Savannah's entire Historic District, including three laser-lit narratives of the city's history projected onto the model. Massie's six exhibit rooms inside the historic 1856 Greek Revival school house offers visitors the unique opportunity to learn about Savannah's many architectural styles, the earliest inhabitants of the Georgia coast, the historic preservation movement in the city, and what school was like in the 1800s inside our authentic heritage classroom. We are located on beautiful Calhoun Square, Savannah's only architecturally original square, at the corner of Abercorn and Gordon streets. We look forward to seeing you!
Catlett, VA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good little start”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was an interesting start to our day in Savannah. It had a small tour, interactive exhibits for the kids, and lovely gardens out back. The $7 entry fee was worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cblevins81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    71
    21
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Highlights were interactive map of Savannah & the classroom reproduction.”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I had read the reviews on this center and it was top of my list. It is now included in the Old Town Trolley Tour and admission is included in the tour price. I loved the interactive map of Savannah which gave a terrific history of the city from its beginnings. The classroom upstairs was simple but beautiful and brought my husband and I back to our youth in similar desks with the open inkwell. The garden at the back is a pretty retreat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good place to begin your visit to Savannah”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

To get a real sense of what it means that "Savannah was laid out in squares" start here. The center offers a good overview of the various architecture styles that one sees when walking around or in the old houses.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JCBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocheport, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Definitely an early "must see" in Savannah”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

On the edge of the historic district, this center is not promoted by the city visitor center (shame!).
See the architecture exhibit before doing a walking tour of the historic district's squares and buildings. You'll have a much better appreciation for the diversity of architecture. Other family-friendly features in the A-exhibit also make this my second favorite (after Monticello's in Charlottesville, Virginia). The small Native American exhibit is loaded with aftifacts and information. The model of the city and the preservation exhibit also are worth a look.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TJfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to a City”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I am a regular visitor to cities, and a preservation professional and urbanist. The Massie Centre is a must first stop on your visit to Savannah, it will explain to you the physical fabric and ideals of the city, its founding. I particularly enjoyed the model of the city and the architecture room. You could do worse than just wander from square to square identifying architectural styles.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank architect44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Massie Heritage Center also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Massie Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing