We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but limited.”

Massie Heritage Center
Ranked #45 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Massie Heritage Center should be your first stop in Georgia's first city! Massie provides the best orientation for your visit with a 3D model of Savannah's entire Historic District, including three laser-lit narratives of the city's history projected onto the model. Massie's six exhibit rooms inside the historic 1856 Greek Revival school house offers visitors the unique opportunity to learn about Savannah's many architectural styles, the earliest inhabitants of the Georgia coast, the historic preservation movement in the city, and what school was like in the 1800s inside our authentic heritage classroom. We are located on beautiful Calhoun Square, Savannah's only architecturally original square, at the corner of Abercorn and Gordon streets. We look forward to seeing you!
NH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK, but limited.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This attraction was OK at best. Some interesting info, but some of the other attractions in town are much more worth the time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    71
    21
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
517 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“I found the same desk I had in grade school”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed the Center- it made us feel good. I got the feel of what it would have been like to atten school many years ago. This was a very civilized school in a very civilized city.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Educational!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We found this very interesting. Displays are well done with lots of reading. You can do it in about 40 minutes

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank N0tfr0mNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hop off the Trolley and go in!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Massie Heritage Center is located in the old Massie school. The classroom is set up as how it appeared 100 years ago, there are costumes for the kids to try on, chalk and slates. The slates are roughly the size of a iPad so its kind of cool to see how far we have come in 100 years.

There is a model of the city of Savannah that took a couple years to create, an architecture of Savannah exhibit. Interesting for adults with things to keep the kids occupied. It doesn't take long to go through it and the trolley stop is right in front of the door.

You do have to pay to get in, but since I can't remember how much it was ,it wasn't expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaMonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I was doing a self guide walk around the area and stumbled across the 'Massie' center . Oh, my word did I so enjoy the leisurely walk around the floors. I found the huge construction of Savannah and the narrative explaining the growth of Savannah, on the ground floor so interesting. I also so enjoyed the mock classroom and looking at all the artifacts and photos of the school children and their teachers. Fascinating looking at the books and I particularly felt emotional regarding the story of the fan and the photo of the teacher who had received the fan from her class. Wonderful, wonderful place and an ideal place to take children to see how their older generation dressed and learnt in school . Also the interaction for children and various exhibitions. Well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank derbypair_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Massie Heritage Center also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Massie Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing