We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Go and see”

Mickve Israel Temple
Ranked #6 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Third oldest congregation and only neo-gothic Jewish sanctuary in the U. S. We offer tours, food festival (last Sunday in October), destination weddings and services every Fri/Sat and holidays. See our website for calendar of events.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must Go and see”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Beautiful inside !! The stained windows are gorgeous. We took a tour of the temple and the museum that was upstairs. This is a reform temple that was renovated because of a fire, but it is intact and there are some pictures of the before and after. The temple dates back to the 1800s and some of the original artifacts and furniture are still there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sblackman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    127
    25
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Really excellent tour of the gothic style synagogue. Our guide (whose name I can't remember) was so thorough and knowledgeable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful & spiritual site”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The template is located on one if Savannah's many park squares. It is definitely worth seeing as the tour was informative and interesting. The entire building had a very spiritual feel to it, you could almost "feel" our countries history inside the synagogue! Don't miss this .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ygjh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and interesting tour”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We got there at 10am and took the tour right away. The synagogue is more than well kept, its story goes back to the 17th century and our guide was great. A small museum on the top floor completes the visit, there is also a small store. We had a very nice time, feeling very welcomed. The whole visit took us about an hour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenceLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you are a student of Jewish history this is a must see. As soon as you enter you get the greeting "shalom, you all." Great tour knowledgeable docent. Beautiful temple.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaSbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mickve Israel Temple also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mickve Israel Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing