We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I recently spent 8 nights at the Ballastone -- it was terrific. It is a warm comfortable property with a very attentive staff, delicious food and a feel of history. From the moment Jasmine greeted us at the front door we felt welcome. The entire staff made sure our every need was met.

The included perks were many --- breakfasts were delicious, the afternoon tea charming, the early hour devours plentiful and the late night Sherry and/or Port refreshing -- all included in the room charge (wine and beer are extra).

The Ballastone is located in the heart of the historic district of Savannah and makes most places of interest within easy walking distance. For those places a bit further away, there is a free DOT shuttle that makes a round trip of the city -- also a free Ferry that makes a triangle run of the waterfront.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Low Country" room. It is the least expensive of the rooms. It is plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    65
    28
    21
    20
See reviews for
62
468
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed four nights, and two things made this visit estra special: (1) the STAFF, all of whom were welcoming, helpful, attentive and knowledgeable and (2) the quality of the full breakfasts, with a changing menu each day (or basically the same if you requested that). Most of the rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. Ours, "Hannah" was relatively small and notbeautifully decorated. We will surely return when in Savannah and will choose a room that is not on the lower level.

Room Tip: Any room except on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahama-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Ballastone for our wedding anniversary weekend. I gave this trip to my husband at Christmas and we had been looking forward to our stay in Savannah for months. The Ballastone Inn should have been the highlight.

Staff is friendly; especially Amy. Her referral to "Dinner and A Cemetery" was great. She also staged a DVD player in our room while we were out, which was a plus. The food is "as advertised."

Our room was on the bottom level across the hall from the kitchen and service area. With three young children at home, sleeping in on vacation would have been a luxury. No chance. Once the clanging and banging of breakfast service started at 7 am, the peace was over.

Sadly, I cannot rate our overall experience at the Ballastone anything other than a "1." At the end of our stay I discovered something valuable missing from my personal belongings. Devastated. Period. End of story.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ahhickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Ballastone. It was marvelous. From the moment we entered the front door, we were treated like guests in a private home. Everyone of the staff was outgoing, friendly, and eager to make sure our trip was perfect. The variety in rooms provided fun choices as each room was tastefully decorated in a unique fashion, and not, I might add, in the "frilly" mode that is found in many B&Bs. Location was just right; a short walk to the river and right around the corner from one of the squares where we could catch walking tours. After spending much of the day on our feet sightseeing, it was so pleasant to come back to enjoy tea or hors d'oeuvres or just to relax in the comfy atmosphere of the common rooms before heading out again for dinner. In addition to the rooms on the main floor, there are even sitting areas on each of the higher floors and an elevator if your feet are just worn out. For breakfast you could pre-order their hot entre or select from cold items. I found the breakfasts to be delicious, and we were able to schedule the time to fit our needs. Definitely take a look at their website to select which room decor and price you want. There is a lovely variety. All rooms were, gorgeous, well equiped, and comfortable. We were in the Mary Musgrove room and it was very quiet with lots of windows for natural light.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LnLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights during a recent visit to Savannah.
Our vist started well with a really warm greeting, assistance with luggage and parking for our car.
Our room - Mulbery Tulips exceeded our expectations. It was extremely large, well equipped with large very comfortable bed. The only slight downside was that it was a corner room on the front of the hotel and there was some traffic noise. However this did not prevent us enjoying the room with its huge sofa and armchair providing lots of space for relaxing after a day exploring.
The staff were all extremely friendly and gave excellent advice when requested. They were very understanding and helpful when we requested a variation to our breakfast from that offered, in contrast to another similar quality Inn we stayed at earlier in our trip.
The Inn's location is really convenient for exploring Savannah on foot and there is a tour tram stop just outside if you want to explore this way.
I strongly recommend the Ballastone as a place to stay if you want to explore Savannah.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spencer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Ballastone was lovely, historic and comfortable. We stayed in the Savannah room (street level) because it had two beds (twins) and found the room to be very comfortable, roomy and quiet. The sheets were the softest I have ever slept on. I don't think the room had individual temp control but the temp was perfect for us. We had easy access to a spacious courtyard with all sorts of gorgeous plants, tables, and fountain. The inn was at capacity but never felt crowded. The off-street parking is a great asset and felt relatively secure. Easy walk to the theater and a few restaurants. Breakfast was a bit dissapointing-but this isn't a restaurant-so I can't knock the effort. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knightwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent a week at the Ballastone Inn and could not have been more pleased! Savannah is a wonderful city and the Ballastone was close walking distance from everything we wanted to see and do. The staff was exceptional- helping us plan our tours and dining options. Breakfast was a treat outside. Can't say enough good about the very helpful staff- did I mention how helpful the staff were? Lovely setting, comfortable rooms. A pleasure- one of our best vacations!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottandAlice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing