We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want an Inn to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
BEND, OREGON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you want an Inn to be”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We arrived at the Inn after a disappointing stay in Orlando, where it rained almost every minute we were there, The front desk was manned by a lovely young lady who rushed out back to help us park and unload all our heavy luggage. The housekeeper scurried to change the bed arrangement from King to twins and that was in the first 5 minutes. The inn is beautifully decorated and appointed with lovely antiques, silver and china Breakfast is varied and delicious...After along day touring the beautiful presentation of tea is a much welcomed surprise. Then we're on to a tasty spread of hors d'oeuvres. Our room was immaculate and beautiful....off a lovely little garden. The staff could not be more helpful from the front desk to the daily servers and housekeepers. We were also delighted at the perfect location. The Savannah Touring trolley stops right out front, many terrific restaurants are located close by and you can walk to almost anything in the Historic District from the hotel. It rained most of the time we were in Savannah too, but we didn't care having a wonderful haven to keep us warm, dry and happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BENDBABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    67
    30
    21
    20
See reviews for
63
485
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We went to Savannah for a long weekend celebrating our one-year wedding anniversary. We stayed three nights at this inn. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. However, we were disappointed with our stay.

I had exchanged emails with one of the concierges about a month prior to our visit. I informed the concierge that we have dietary restrictions and cannot eat meat, poultry or shellfish. I also let her know that we were celebrating out anniversary. During the course of our stay, our anniversary was not acknowledged once. Further, the chef attempted to serve my husband meat during two of the three breakfasts we ate during our stay. The first time, there was bacon on the plate and the server told is "oh just eat around it." That is unacceptable. I would expect better for a #1 ranked establishment.

On the third night of our stay, we discovered a major cleanliness issue with our room. We were upgraded immediately to a very nice suite and the staff and owner were extremely apologetic. However, the nature of the issue definitely called into question the cleanliness of the entire establishment for me. Again, the staff seemed very nice but overall we were very disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank KellyLLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Visited Ballastone Inn for a short getaway in Savannah. Our choice was made from numerous options, based on excellent Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed – it fully lived up to the excellent rating. Our room was one of the smaller ones, but very clean and comfortable and with all the comfort conveniences. The location is very central and walking distance to all sights in the Historic District, with excellent restaurants and pubs close by. Arrival, departure and services through the day were pleasant and well-organized. The varying “Chef’s special” breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. We did partake in the afternoon tea offered, and on occasion the evening drinks and hors d’oeuvres. Our only “complaint” – being near the kitchen, the smell of pancakes, bacon or omelettes wafting though our room early in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We recently spent three night at the Ballastone and everything was delightful. Only quibles were the bathrooms and TV's could use an update. Service and Breakfast were outstanding. The location is perfect for seeing all that Savannah has to offer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I recently visited the Ballastone Inn during a short couples getaway in Savannah. After reading previous reviews, I was very much looking forward to it. However, I have to say that I was a little disappointed. First I will say some good things--the Inn is very clean, beautifully decorated, and conveniently located within walking distance from most important spots in the city. The staff is very friendly and professional. We stayed in the Low Country Room which was located in the basement level. It was a little loud in the morning due to being located next to the kitchen, but otherwise we had no complaints. In addition, I was very pleased that we were not charged me for our first night's stay since we were unable to make it to Savannah on time due to a flight delay.

My average review comes from the fact that the Inn seems to be a little understaffed. There was only one front desk person at a time who seemed to be responsible for all duties including check-in, check-out, and breakfast service. Unfortunately, on both mornings of our stay, there was not an clean table to sit at for breakfast. We had to wait for one to be cleared. The second day, we sat at a table that had not been cleared, hoping that someone would do so later. However, dirty napkins were never removed, and we had to ask for silverware and clean glasses for water. Given the price that you pay to stay at the Ballastone, I guess I expected that higher standards would be met.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms on the second floor may be a little less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ang1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallastoneInn, General Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We greatly appreciate all of our guests allowing us to host a visit to our beautiful city. Though we present no excuses, we offer a valid reason for less than stellar breakfast service this past weekend. Due to the sudden illness of one of our breakfast servers, remaining staff adjusted to multi-tasking. Our staff eagerly anticipated the needs of all guests. To exemplify a more intimate setting, we offer private tables for two. Unfortunately, during our colder months, our private courtyard is generally not requested for breakfast. Thus, there may be a brief waiting period for guests choosing to enjoy breakfast in our serene parlor or antique bar. However, guests are encouraged to enjoy a cup of coffee, hot tea, or homemade hot chocolate while tables are refreshed for service. We hope you return to our gorgeous city and allow us to host any future visit. Jennifer Salandi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Nice friendly place and great location! Knowledgeable staff and loved breakfast. Plan to return soon. This time was for business but would love to return with my husband or a friend when I have time to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We chose the Ballastone based on the great reviews and if you love old, gracious homes this is the place for you. More of a B&B than an Inn, the rooms were were outfitted, great comfortable beds with duvet covers and down pillows. The staff is friendly and he breakfasts made to order. I would return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,497 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,910 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing