We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love this inn”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wanted to love this inn”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If we had only stayed in our first room (Scarborough) this rating would have been much higher but our experience in the second room (Low Country) tainted our experience. We could only stay two nights in the better room due to availability but had asked the innkeepers to upgrade us from the Low Country Room should anything open up. Scarborough was spacious, comfortable, only complaint was the proximity to the firehouse two blocks down so when the trucks when screaming out of the firehouse at 2 am it awakened us. Low Country, however, had several problems which were not present in Scarborough. No night light for the bathroom, bedside flashlight had no batteries in it to sub for the missing nightlight. Clock wasn't working (told later it is on a switched outlet, ???). Wifi did not reach the room, had to go outside to a common hall to get internet access. Sisal rug was uncomfortable to walk on barefooted. Most importantly was the noise. At midnight, 1 am and 2 am we were awakened by someone walking overhead and turning on water, moving some furniture. Early in the morning the noise from the kitchen adjacent to the Low Country room woke us up from what poor sleep we could get. The next morning we were told it was probably the night staff who would have been in the tea room which was overhead. Then to add to the frustration, the Scarborough room had been left empty all night because the people scheduled for the room never checked in! Unlike our current B&B who called and emailed us to confirm our arrival and time, apparently the Ballastone staff did not try or could not reach them. One has to prepay for the room so the innkeepers tell me they are obligated to keep the room for a reservation no matter the lateness of the hour. Frustrating because had we been able to stay in the room, the no show people would have been happy at not having to pay for an unused room and we would have been happy staying in the better, quieter room which we would gladly have paid for. The staff here are wonderful, very apologetic, tried to make things right, credited us the cost of the Low Country Room so we have no complaints about the staff whatsoever. Their service recovery was good. The building is beautiful, well located for walking around Savannah. I wish we could give higher marks for our stay. Some suggestions: People travel with so many electronic gizmos that having no outlets for charging is a negative. All the other inns we stayed at on this trip had splitters on the wall outlets to allow multiple gadgets to be plugged in or provided power strips in convenient locations so you are not crawling under furniture to unplug lamps, etc to find a place to charge phones, computers. They did provide an extension cord but that only allowed two more plug ins. A wifi booster should solve the problems in the lower rooms in having no wifi in the room.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground level rooms which are near the kitchen and are affected by anyone walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyssf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    72
    30
    23
    21
See reviews for
73
518
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Using the number rating system was very difficult for this hotel because the quality if the accommodations greatly depended on what room you are in. We checked in on a Thursday afternoon in the rain and tried calling the Inn from outside the front door as we didn't know where to park our car but no one answered the phone . I ran up the steps in the rain and finally found someone who told me to find a spot if I could in the back of the building . My husband is not allowed to lift any weight because if a heart problem so as there was no one to help so I had to drag two large suitcases up a flight of steps to the Inn's office . This lack of service was indicative of things to come. When we entered our room , Tea Olive, I immediately noticed dark mold around the white tile in the tub , a heavy amount of dust on the ceiling vent and peeling paint on the bathroom windowsills and room moldings.dirt was visible under the peeling paint and in the corners if the tile floors. I have stayed in Historic Inns around the world and know that historical authenticity doesn't have to equate with maintenance neglect . I asked to change rooms and told there were none available . We decided to make the best if it and went to the tea hour and later that evening the wine and cheese hour. The tea pastries were not appealing and looked like they were made by a child. The wine and cheese hour was really a cheese hour as there was a charge for the wine .Generally, this is a gracious touch at Inns and B&Bs that is
offered for free. That night we tried to sleep but were constantly awoken by the sound of something thudding on and off. We suffered through this for an additional night and then complained. The response to our complaints was that it was the heat and the sound would stop if we shut off the heat so we had a choice - to sleep and be warm or freeze. Our third night presented us with new treats. Someone in the room above us was either dancing all night or was walking off insomnia because there was non stop sounds emitting from the room above us. Suddenly, there were continual sounds of running water in our bathroom( our bathroom was extremely close to our bed ). We hardly slept at all . The next morning we were told we would be moved to another room. This room had none of the defects of our previous room. However , after suffering for 3 nights we were told to compensate we would be given something off our rate. That turned out to be $10 for each night we suffered. Ridiculous! And to put the proverbial nail in the coffin we were asked if we had an altercation in our room the night people above us were going crazy because the neighbor in the room across from us heard noise. It would have surprised us if they didn't hear noise as we had.

The public areas of the Inn were lovely and well maintained but the experience we had in our room for our first three nights made it very difficult for us to enjoy those other amenities .

One of the reasons to stay in an Inn, B&B or Boutique hotel is the personal service which was lacking here. Also, we had friends staying in a room on the bottom level who said there was no privacy as they could see people walking by their window and the room was extremely small .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Georgica14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our room (Mulberry Tulips) was beautiful; we especially loved the huge bed and fireplace. The entire property is lovely and charming! We enjoyed tea in the afternoon and our breakfast was perfect. Also in a terrific location. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This old inn is exactly where we wanted to be in the historic district. The tour bus stops right in front, almost everything is within walking distance, and there is convenient free parking behind for guests. Breakfast, tea, and sherry are included and served in the pretty, if over decorated, parlors. Our room (Hannah) was fine, not great - rather dark, cluttered, and we had to improvise a bedside table. The sheets were wonderful, though, and it is lovely to have the beds turned down when you return from dinner. We chose this inn because of the good TA reviews even though it is pricier than many others. I am not sure it was worth the extra $100/night, but it was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkg2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My cousin and I recently stayed at the Inn during our first stay at Savannah. The location cannot be beat!! The reception staff were extremely helpful when we inquired about restaurants, directions and sites to see. We read about the tea hour but never attended as we were either out or tired from site seeing. The room was clean, the closet small and tired looking, but functional. The only negative we had was our breakfast experience, we preferred eating out since the choices at the inn were not what we would choose. I would recommend this inn to anyone visiting since the staff is great and the location amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SKPLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great late February weekend in Savannah and the Ballastone Inn. The inn is in a great location in Savannah's historic area within walking distance of just about everything. The staff was great, personable, extremely friendly, very helpful and always available. Will stay at the inn the next time we are in Savannah.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biker1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing weekend at the Ballastone!! Lived up to all expectations! Staff is superb...very clean...all the small details you come to expect in a B&B. We stayed in the Hannah room which was on the courtyard level, windows looking out onto courtyard and you could faintly hear the fountain and birds in the morning :) very cozy room with fireplace and chandelier over the bed, not as large as other suited but perfect for two for a quick weekend getaway. Only reason 4/5 stars were given is that we could hear staff on one morning as the courtyard rooms are in the same level as the kitchen and laundry areas. Nothing that woke us up just a reminder you are in a home with others nearby :) breakfasts were delicious and staff was very accommodating with requests, very nice to have a a little break with a glass of wine and hors d' oeuvres after a long day of walking the town before dinner! We will definitely return to the Ballastone!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vickersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,078 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing