We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Savannah”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My daughter and I go on a trip every year. This was our second time at Ballastone!! Love the beautiful inn, southern hospitality and great service!! Ballastone is centrally located in the historical district and made it very easy and pleasant to walk wherever we needed to be!! I highly recommend it to experience the true life of Savannah!!
Ruth Ann

Room Tip: All unique and clean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary last week. We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights. The Inn exceeded our expectations it was beautiful and the service was outstanding. This is an adult only facility which was great. Jennifer the owner gave us great advise on where to eat and what to do. The food each morning was outstanding. The staff was very helpful and kind. We look forward to staying there again. The location was perfect just a few blocks from the River walk.

The Elkins Grundy,VA

Room Tip: All the rooms are great we stayed in the Mary Mustrove room on the 4th floor. The rooms have names...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are “locals” of sort, living just across the Savannah River in Bluffton, SC. We love Savannah and often spend the day walking the squares and treating ourselves to ice cream at Leopold’s. We decided to treat ourselves to a stay at this lovely and welcoming inn for our anniversary. Even though my husband isn’t a fan of bed and breakfasts, it was his idea to stay here. He felt very at home here because it is very relaxing and not “stuffy”; you eat in the common areas at tables that are set for two; and the delicious food, although very nice and beautifully presented (blackberries and raspberries included with the fresh fruit, for example), was not so highly spiced and the type of “fru, fru” food that only a woman would enjoy. Even though the inn had many occupied rooms, we often were able to enjoy the parlor, bar area, and adjacent garden by ourselves. Be sure to take time in the evening to enjoy the Johnny Mercer music in the parlor, sipping the complimentary port – we both really enjoyed that. Afternoon tea and before dinner hors d’oeuvres just really added to the charm. The staff: Melissa is wonderful!, Sidney, Kirsten, and all the others go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Located on Oglethorpe St., the inn is perfectly located for walking the squares all the way up to Forsythe Park, as well as down to River Street. I think it is also very near one of the trolley stops (tourist trolleys). If you want to capture the sheer essence of Southern charm and hospitality, this is the place to do it. Pricey, but definitely worth it. We stayed two nights in Scarlett’s Retreat.

Room Tip: Scarlett's Retreat overlooked Oglethorpe St. and we liked the view. Also, it's in a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevnJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was our first visit to Savannah, we really didn't know what to expect. We arrived at the Ballastone on Monday morning (we stayed 5 days). We were greeting by Melissa (she is excellent). She checked us in and gave us tons of information about the city. She recommended restaurants, activities and shared some local knowledge of the area. Our room (Low Country) was cool, comfortable and clean. The entire staff was top notch. They provided a wonderful breakfast, afternoon tea and sweets, evening hors d'oeuvres and nightly Sherry and Port Wine. The courtyard is wonderful place to enjoy breakfast and/or a glass of wine in the evening. The location is perfect but the people are the what makes this "the place to stay in Savannah". We plan on coming back and staying here again very soon.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms seem to be cooler than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biltmore2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The inn was very nice we only stayed one night, nice breakfast, and nice location. The one thing I did not like was that we were on the first floor right next to the kitchen and early in the morning it was noisy and smelled strongly of breakfast in our room since they were preparing for the day.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkhoefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We always stay at the Ballastone Inn on our way to and from Florida. It's been many years now and the experience at the Ballastone never fails to delight us. The Staff is welcoming and friendly,
The rooms are comfortable and charming, and you can't beat the location. We stayed in the Scarborough Fair Room which is roomy and most comfortable.
Breakfasts are delicious and served by congenial staff in locations of your choice on the Parlor level. We are looking forward to our next visit!




  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband stayed for one night while visiting Savannah. We appreciated the great location which is walking distance to the main tourist sites and restaurants. The home is beautifully restored, and the rooms are well appointed. We were in a room in the bottom level. The courtyard was a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink, and to eat breakfast. There were nibblies in the afternoon, and the breakfast was very good (hot or cold)
We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank librylady725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: £214 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing