We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Road Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #16 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Summer Road Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The staff at the Ballastone made us feel like royalty and like we were their only guest. it was turly the best experience we've ever had. They made all our reservations for us, gave us some discount cards to places we wanted to see and dine. Our room was the China Trade and it was large and just beautiful. Breakfast was always just great. Enjoyed the afternoon tea.
Miss Milissia was wonderful and really enjoyed making you feel specila, wish I could have brought her home with me. We will be returning again.

Jann and Renna

Room Tip: Loved the China Trade room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceandiva218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    65
    28
    21
    20
See reviews for
62
467
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This has to be one of the nicest hotels, quirky, full of history, apparently a resident ghost and the most superb service. We were greeted by friendly staff, and told about the complimentary tea at 4 pm in the lounge. There are complimentary canapes at 6.00 and port and sherry until 10.30. The rooms are all individual and for those not occupied you can go and have a look round. Our room, Low Country I s probably the smallest, but absolutely stunning and we had our best night's sleep for a long time.
The breakfasts are beautifully prepared and a little out of the ordinary. The Inn is right in the middle of the historic district so there is only a short walk to various historic attractions and multiple restaurants. There is a small car park at the rear and would recommend leaving the car here and wandering the various neighbourhoods.
Both agreed, with the personal attention and superb aervice by all staff, this has to be one of the best places to stay, anywhere!

Room Tip: If you visit on different occasions choose a different room each time, they are all spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AthelbraeTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

All of the rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious, and the staff is wonderful. We could not have asked for more. Anything we wanted to know about the city, where to eat? What to do? Was not only answered for us, but any reservations or advanced planning was taken care of for us by the staff. And all the staff was warm and friendly, they definitely have the gift of Southern Hospitality!

We would absolutely stay at the Ballastone Inn again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, but you can see the fireworks (1st Friday night of the month) from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ballastone Inn. From the moment we arrived Melissa the Inn's operations manager was a delight. We were treated like welcomed guests the entire stay and the location is just perfect for visiting historic Savannah. The entire house is gorgeous, comfortable and just the type of place to recuperate from the afternoon Savannah heat. Breakfast, tea and "happy hour" were all served daily and the breakfast was delicious every morning. We stayed on the first floor so we did have a bit of noise from the courtyard in the evening but it was minor issue. We highly recommend this lovely B&B for anyone traveling to Savannah.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor (below the reception floor) do not have their own A/C controls. You mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillygal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Ballastone in the Mulberry Tulips room. This is a top-level, corner room and resembles the website pictures quite accurately. The upside was the room was well lit and and it was quite big. The downside is the bus stop is right outside the windows. (The bus stop does include a stop for the Savannah "jump on/jump off" city tour, however, which is very convenient.) Would recommend the room next door if you're not used to city noise and like to sleep in. The bedding and towels are very soft. The food was okay -- def for free breakfast it wasn't bad. As others have noted, the inn seemed a wee understaffed esp since it appeared the house was full of guests. One fun thing -- during the day, they leave unoccupied rooms open so you can check them out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from our 1st visit to Savannah, GA and an amazing stay at the Ballastone Inn! We were introduced to the Ballastone Inn after receiving a Living Social deal several months ago & after doing some research on this property, the reviews were phenomenal, so we booked the 2-night stay. From the minute we walked through the front door, we were captivated by the charm surrounding us. Our room was immediately available for check-in & when the door was opened to the Victoria Suite, I couldn't believe my eyes! The first thing that caught my eye was the high-rise plush bed ~ I knew I'd get the most restful night's sleep ever! I was enthralled with the decor & antique furniture, so tastefully decorating this room. The floor-to-ceiling lead glass topped windows overlooked the enchanting courtyard on one side & the back parking lot on the other side of the room. The bathroom was quite pleasing, from the plush towels, ultra plush robes & relaxing jacuzzi tub....we couldn't ask for more! Now let's get to the other good, good stuff about this place! Daily, at 4 o'clock, guests can partake in tea time. It's self-serve, and oh so charming! We enjoyed tea in the front parlor, with delectable goodies (scones, Devonshire cream, strawberry jam, coconut macaroons, egg & bacon finger sandwiches to name a few!)....plenty of options on the main level of where to sit & enjoy your tea & goodies, with pleasant music piped in for our enjoyment. This also gave us the opportunity to take in the beauty of each room on the main level~superbly decorated with fine attention to detail! After tea time, we would walk the historic downtown area of Savannah~I could go on & on about how beautiful & charming Savannah is, but those who have been there already know~and if you haven't been there, check it out! In the early evening time, we'd head back to the Ballastone, looking forward to hors' dourves & cocktail hour...you could again choose to stay in the bar area, which was just beautiful, any of the other main gathering rooms, or sit in the courtyard area, which was beautifully lit for the evening time. We enjoyed our 1st tastings of Port & Sherry during these evening cocktail gatherings, although you could have wine if desired (beer may have been an option too). This really was just a great way to start off the evening. The Ballastone Inn doesn't offer dinner service, which was totally fine, because it gave us the opportunity to explore the many eateries in the area ~ all within walking distance, of course!
Part of your stay at the Ballastone includes nightly turn-down service, with fine chocolates on the bedside tables...our package also included a bottle of wine (our choice of red or white) ~ just another added nice touch that is greatly appreciated! The bed didn't disappoint, as I knew it wouldn't!! I'm all about a comfy bed & this one I wish I could transplant back to my own bedroom! You needed a two-step riser to get into the bed & oh my, the linens were so luxurious!!! The pillows were perfect, & the mattress was AMAZING!! This suite was totally regal in nature (aptly named the Victoria Suite) & we truly felt like royalty for those 2 nights! The morning time was equally as fabulous! Guests are given a door card in the evening to fill out for breakfast goodies. This is hung on the outside of your door before retiring for the evening ~ guests choose what they want for breakfast, what time they want to be served, and where they'll sit to eat their breakfast. The Ballastone chef offers a daily "chef's choice" option or you could eat lighter with tasty granola or yogurt selections on the bar. We of course chose the "chef's choice" and had 2 fabulous breakfasts, which included a starter of fresh fruit cups, juice, tea, & coffee. My favorite was the belgian waffles with pecan-filled syrup. Breakfast was probably my favorite time there, and that says a lot, since I'm generally not a breakfast eater.
I was sad to see our 2 day visit come to an end ~ staying at the Ballastone Inn truly exceeded our expectations! We did have the opportunity to meet the owner, Jennifer, & enjoyed a pleasant conversation with her. Jennifer really has a great staff working with her & that does make a difference! Everyone was pleasant, kind & helpful (Thanks to Christy (fellow Ohioan) working the check-in for all of her suggestions & help during our stay!). It's no wonder the Ballastone Inn has received the rave reviews that it has...I give it a two thumbs up & encourage anyone looking for a clean, enchanting & enjoyable place to stay while in historic Savannah, check into the Ballastone! You won't be disappointed~the location is perfect, as well! There are 16 rooms to choose from, all with a different theme...one thing to note is parking...there are 7 spots in the rear of the Ballastone...we were lucky to get a parking space, where we left the car for the entire stay (since we walked everywhere once there), but you can get a voucher to park somewhere close for I believe $12/day). Can't wait to make another trip back to Savannah~The Ballastone will be our choice for accommodations!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the Ballastone Inn. There is no better location in the historic district. We were a 5-10 minute walk from everything. The Gazebo room, where we stayed, was roomy and nicely appointed. The breakfasts were varied and delicious and the staff was wonderful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank docdpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing