We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a difficult review because I wanted to like it so much. I have stayed in many B&B's and know that they vary considerably in what they offer. There are several issues to consider. Some of the staff was very friendly and helpful while others seemed uninterested. Walter was particularly kind and accommodating.The house is very old but that is part of its charm. The public rooms were nicely decorated and the staircase is beautiful. Our room was large and at first glance seemed well appointed. However, the drapes need some work since they didn't all close properly. One of the two chairs had a cushion that was so old and dilapidated that it was like sitting on a board. The antique side table wobbled precariously anytime we tried to use it. The bed was comfortable and the turn down service was a nice touch. Breakfast was okay. The scones and muffins were dry and had little flavor, but the bacon, eggs, and grits were good. Fresh fruit would be a nice addition to the menu. One thing that really bothered me is that when the server removed anyone's plate, he had on the wet rubber gloves used to wash the dishes. The evening wine and appetizers are a nice touch. Nothing fancy, but adequate. The late evening dessert choices were cookies or a pound cake. Not very good but still the effort is nice. I don't necessarily regret staying there, but I won't return on my next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JourneyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. Truly a wonderful experience, back in time of 1800's. We stayed in the "Jullia Scarborough" room beautiful, bright spacious suite located in the corner of the building on the 2nd floor, with wonderful views from the eight very large windows
I loved it!!! So romantic... If you ever want to feel right at home, after a long road trip, this is the place to stay. The staff could not have done enough for us. Rachel the concierge, took the time to assist us with things to do during our stay. Mario and Walter (Bellman), without a moment notice, were there to assist us with our luggage, evening turndowns, always with a sweet indulgence. The breakfasts are wonderful, afternoon tea and cocktail hour, made our stay so warm and welcoming. Lakiesha (maid-service) provided excellent service, friendly, outgoing and shared past history/strories with us. The Gastonian is located in the residential district of Savannah. It is approx. a 20 minute walk to shopping and restaurants. Away from the madding crowd. This was truly a wonderful experience and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueH10114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Did this hotel come under new ownership? It was recently so organized and pristine -- now it feels like a low budget company runs it. There are "new" rooms added to the originals, but they are not very nice at all. And the original rooms are lacking in the cleanliness and charm they once had. Breakfast was not the same either. This was sad to return to such a reduction of past luxuries. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaplesPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

In a word 'wow'! If you are a sucker for history then stay at the Gastonian as it's like walking into 1868! The smell of the place is wonderful as they are always baking. Their breakfasts are wonderful. The staff super friendly. If you cannot abide stairs then stay elsewhere or book the first floor. Theor beds are super comfy and on turndown they left candied pecans! Parking in the area is free . . . if you can find a spot. If you like character & historical charm then this place is perfect. I stayed for 2 nites and they met and exceeded all expectations.

Room Tip: some rooms are small and others large - they are all different - suggest you ask to see what is avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just left this morning, and wish I were still in residence...truly! This is probably one of the nicest boutique hotels/B&Bs I have ever stayed in thus far in my life. We were in Room 306 (Mary Telfair) and it was quite huge. Two beds (amazingly comfortable) and 8 windows that basically gave a 360-degree view from the top floor of the main mansion.
The staff was welcoming (Karen and Omida were outstanding as the morning and evening concierges and were very easy to chat with--fonts of information). I have to say that Rachel, the concierge was good too, but was far less approachable and a bit dour when we first checked in--if we can hear the boredom in your voice when we ask questions, it's not a good sign--but this was a minor annoyance.
The morning breakfast staff were kind and attentive--James cooks some amazing breakfasts with assistance from Maris who always kept us regaled with stories about his dog, Precious. It was a delight to chat with him each morning...and the food truly was spectacular, although some might find the selection limited to 5 choices, we found that plenty for a four night stay.
The property is a bit of a walk from the Riverfront, but it was nice to work off some of the food from the local restaurants...haha.
The evening desserts and cordials were unanimously good--almond/cherry torte, blackberry cake, pineapple cake, pecan cookies, etc., as well as decanters of port, sherry and peach schnapps to enjoy while trading stories with the other guests in the plush front sitting room.
Be aware that there are only 6 on-site parking spots, and the on-street parking around the hotel can be a bit complicated as to where and when and how long you can park...but just ask and all will be explained--Omida was a lifesaver when I returned at 11pm on the night of the 4th of July.
A truly great property that I hope to return to in the near-future and that I can recommend almost unreservedly.

Room Tip: Loved Mary Telfair for its two beds and its corner location. Though the Julia Scarborough Room seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYUCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It calls itself a B&B and a boutique hotel in its leaflet - I'd say it is the latter, with a price tag that reflects that. This is an airy, elegant antebellum townhouse artfully refurbished and part of a small group of similar properties in Savannah. It had mixed reviews so I did have my fingers crossed, but no need - we thought it was fab.

We had a deluxe room which was spacious and beautifully decorated with a bathroom you could get lost in. Breakfast was a very informal affair in the kitchen with the friendly staff cooking it in front of you. Food was simple - much more basic than some of the B&Bs we stayed in - but it was fine. Afternoon wines and canapes were more extravagant and a really nice touch.

The staff oozed Southern friendliness and couldn't have been more helpful with lots of ideas of what to do and where to go, and someone was always on hand to help with bags and so on. The house is well away from the town centre, just across from Forsyth Park which is perfect as it's quiet and peaceful but an easy and wonderful walk into the town centre down any number of roads and through all the fabulous squares in this stunning city. I suspect if you stay further in, you won't see anywhere near as much.

The Gastonian has all the easy charm and laid back elegance that typifies Savannah and it steps straight out of the book the city's famous for. For us it was the beginning of a love affair with the city - I'd definitely recommend the Gastonian though I suspect there are also lots of other lovely places and we will probably try another before returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The service here was prenominal. You tip when you leave so everyone works extra hard to give you the best. After a long walk my husband was outside in front using the phone, one of the staff brought him a bottle of water. This is typical of all of the staff. The get togethers around 4 and 8 are great for talking to other guests. We enjoyed meeting other guests. We liked walking to the river. It was a nice distance. It gave you time and opportunity to see and neighborhoods and work off the wonderful food, both here and around Savannah.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £142 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing