We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there unless you want 3rd rate accommocation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2008

Beautiful city, shame The Gastonion has an enhancing website but you do not get value for your money no matter what you pay! The Gastonian is a very tired old building in desparate need of refurbishment and the removal of the Diamond award until they earn it again.There is no point repeating all the previous poor reviews because they have covered everything. I sadly could not beleive it could be that bad and should have taken notice. DO NOT GO THERE UNLESS YOU WANT 3rd RATE ACCOMMODATION.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dermot8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2008

I had given my wife a trip to Savannah, GA for her Christmas gift. Lots of planning as to special places to eat, tours, a stage play, etc.Also, the wonderful fire works display, welcoming 2008 on the River. I especially wanted an historic inn, full of Southern hospitality, and, chose the Gastonian Inn from all that I had read. The Inn was not horrible, but, very disappointing. I booked the Caracalla, the most expensive suite in the inn. It had been lovely at one time, but, was really very worn and not tidy. The staff were the most removed and rude people I have ever met. The breakfast, while nice in quality left a lot to be desired in quantity. The portions were so small, it was actually funny. They did go overboard on the Pralines on the Pillows and they were delicious. The parking situation is unbelievable. Savannah is a lovely city, and made for a great visit, the Olde Pink House and Vic's on the River, outstanding. The homes, shops and cafes fun and inviting. The Vanilla Day Sap, very nice. The only disappointment was the Gastonian. The one place of romance I so longed for for my wife. Beware of their web-site. It refers to them being a member of the Select Registry. There is no way. Trust me. I would, however, suggest the Ballastone Inn.

9  Thank MLloydSalem,IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

The staff at the Gastonian pulls down the quality of what could be a relatively nice inn. There were a few problems with the room needing some perking up, but the staff's disinterest in their guests was just sad. Hospitality in the South is important so when it is this lacking in Savannah, that is saying something!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

We chose this hotel to celebrate my 60th birthday. Upon arrival, (well after the check-in time) our room was not ready...linens in middle of bed, no toiletries, etc. Concierge suggested that we enjoy the afternoon tea in the dining room, while our room was prepared. After about an hour, we returned to find no pillowcases, no top sheet, no toilet paper, no washcloths, water glasses, etc., etc.

Bed was beautiful, but squeaked with every move. Breakfasts were okay, except we never got to use the beautiful dining room. Service was in the "family" kitchen. Regular coffee was the only offering and that was never hot.

After two days of not having any soap, we bought our own. The maids left their housecleaning supplies in our room and in the hallways (guess this was to make you feel at home). Lightbulbs were burned out and never replaced.

The evening concierge was much more interested in conducting his personal business on the computer in preparation for his new job at the Holiday Inn in the next few days.

The decor was beautiful, as were the grounds. The afternoon tea and the evening desserts were great. These were the only saving graces that even suggested that the AAA four diamond award was at all justified.

We will come back to Savannnah. We will not return to the Gastonian.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

While the Gastonian was certainly a very lovely B+B, the staff members cordial and very helpful, I find that I must warn people that choose this establishment using a website for booking a stay here. Apparently the Gastonian has two rooms with which they make available for Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com etc. and they ARE NOT the rooms advertised as having large comfortable beds, tubs and working fireplaces. We happened to book this stay through an internet site but were not given the opportunity to see the "actual" room until we arrived. It contained a double bed, very, very squeeky I might add, a small bathroom and a non-working fireplace. Actually not one of the fireplaces were working as indicated by a sign in the hall upon our arrival. We looked at and inquired about an alternate room, the other rooms were all gorgeous, the staff was great but they were unable to accomodate a room change for us. Best part of the stay at the Gastonian turned out to be meeting all of the people from around the country visiting Savannah at the same time... Breakfast was nice, staff accomodating and cordial, scones and muffins were the size of a quarter and hard if you arrived at breakfast later in the morning. Afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres was an engaging event but the upholstery in the parlor was very tired and in need of a good cleaning... We heard that the Eliza Thompson and The Hamilton Turner Inn were nicer for about the same cost. We will return to Savannah but not to the Gastonian, sorry.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nancyheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed at the Gastonian August 9-12, 2007, and could not have enjoyed it more! This inn is full of charm and enchantment! The staff was very courteous and extremely knowledgable of the local restaurants, attractions and Savannah history. Afternoon cocktail hour was my favorite time of day - we mingled with other guests and shared stories of our trips, all the while enjoying delicious h'ordeurves and beverages. And at the end of the day when you return to your room, the bed is turned down and a scrumptious praline is placed on your pillow. This is southern charm at its best! Beautiful grounds and rooms, great location, breakfast made to order every morning - who could ask for more? I highly recommend the Gastonian to anyone planning a trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xtinaDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Southern hospitality at its finest! The room was adorable, breakfast delicious, tea service charming, and staff outstanding! I loved everything about this historical hotel, I will never stay at another when travelling to Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdidigethere78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,129 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £142 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing