We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #7 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed two nights over Thanksgiving 2011 and had a lovely romantic break in Savannah. The service was very good, the room was clean, beautifully decorated in that old southern way, the bathroom was perfect.... i would go back again when in there next.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    119
    42
    28
    26
See reviews for
73
596
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our room was at street level and was large. It had a Jacuzzi and a walk in shower. The B&B was located a short distance from the town centre but as the car parking was insufficient often our car had to be parked in the street and maybe around the corner.

The receptionists were friendly and helpful although not always giving the correct information. Breakfast menus had to be delivered the night before although they were a waste of time as we never got what we had requested. We ended up asking for eggs on toast.

The deserts and drinks in the evening were good and gave an opportunity of meeting our fellow guests, as was the case at breakfast.

Despite being at street level there was no noise to interrupt our sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our first stay in a B & B in Savannah and would go back at any time. Staff was very helpful especially Lance. Made us feel so at home. We spent three nights and took advantage of the afternoon get together with wine and h'ordevres as well as the after-dinner desserts and drinks. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent the night here for a quick trip to Savannah for pleasure, and were just dazzled by the helpfulness and competence of the staff. We both like antiques and loved the furnishings which were beautiful as well as comfortable. The after-dinner dessert and drinks - port was what we had - was beautifully presented and we were so tickled to find it. The afternoon hors d'oeuvres were delightful and if anyone had been visible, I'd have asked for the recipes. The chef in the kitchen insisted that we take a one-pot package of the coffee we had enjoyed and had remarked upon. The Southern hospitality seemed real and not saccarine as it is some places. One of the best b&bs we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was quite a unique experience. The staff is great, the breakfast is made to order, the afternoon Tea and Wine, and evening Dessert set this place aside from others. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had no problems the 5 days we resided at this property. The décor is very southern charmed. There is a free bus shuttle you can take from this location to downtown and the river market area. Parking can be an issue. There is free parking at this site but limited. Come and enjoy a relaxed atmosphere! We did~

Room Tip: If you want a plain room or a fancy room (décor) be specific. View the rooms on the website, they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twistedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I truly enjoyed The Gastonian. I had room 107, which is on the ground level and had its own private courtyard, with koi pond and a swing. Very quiet; heard no street noise at all. Wonderful bed and pillows -- tried to figure out how to get one of the pillows in my suitcase to take home, but just couldn't manage it (I'm joking). The Towels were large and plush. My only complaint about the room was there was a claw-footed tub which wasn't the easiest to get in and out of (especially with a new knee). A walk-in shower would have been easier for me. The room was very clean (ok - if I wanted to be picky I could suggest washing the windows) and enjoyable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were pretty good. Location is great. I was attending a wedding in Chippewa Park, which was walkable (about 15-20 minutes), although I took a "pedicab" as it was 95 degrees and humid! All-in-all a great 2 days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmh1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This lovely and comfortable B&B right in the heart of the historic district of Savannah is not to be missed. Its only drawback is the flights of stairs one must climb in order to reach the impeccable rooms. Everything about this inn is delightful (except its lack of facilities for the disabled). Our room was lovely and comfortable (and clean); there was an afternoon tea and conversation with other guests and dessert in the evening for those who chose more delicious food and conversation. The breakfast is divine. Each evening, a menu for breakfast is delivered to the room for the guest's selection. When you arrive for breakfast, your selected menu item is prepared. The inn is located within walking distance of the visitor's center and close to a good, informal restaurant in addition of great walks around the neighborhood. We're so glad we chose this inn for a stay in Savannah.

Room Tip: Rooms are lovely. However, there are flights of stairs to climb. If that's not a difficulty, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,283 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Property: The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing