We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing , and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #7 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful, relaxing , and lovely”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent two nights in the carriage house in May. It was a beautiful hotel. Lovely rooms and friendly staff made for a very relaxing stay. Breakfast was delicious. The beds were very comfortable. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mecharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    113
    40
    28
    26
See reviews for
67
571
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband-to-be and I were looking for a place for a quiet wedding and being huge fans of Savannah of course we looked there. The Gastonian's elopement package was perfect! They took care of everything! All we had to do was show up with a license and a photographer. We had a beautiful stress free wedding in a beautiful location. Afterwards the bridal suite was, in a word, perfect! It just doesn't get any better then a stay at the Gastonian, wedding or not, but if you're looking g for a wedding location you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: FYI - this is a review for a trip in April 2011 but Trip Advisor wouldn't let me choose that mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! It is absolutely an honor to have so many guests chose to host their weddings at the Gastonian each year. We do our very best to ensure that our Elopements and Weddings are relaxing for the Bride and Groom, the most important people at any wedding! We are thrilled that you chose do spend such a momentous occasion with us, and are even happier to hear how much you enjoyed your experience at the Gastonian and in our lovely Caracalla Suite! We hope to see you both again very soon!

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fabulous friendly staff in a southern manner in a classic period house with authentic furniture we esp liked the predinner drinks and savoury snack and post dinner sherry and port where you could share experiences with fellow guests

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've stayed at this property several times and have always enjoyed the friendly staff, the beautifully appointed rooms, and charm of this historic property. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff, especially the bellman Walter, is friendly, helpful and quite knowledgeable. The opportunities to interact with other guests during breakfast, afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvre, and evening dessert and port/sherry make this a memorable part of your stay in Savannah. It's also located within easy walking distance of all the wonderful sights you'll want to see in Savannah. The staff is very helpful with making arrangements for tours, restaurants, etc. The Gastonian makes any visit to Savannah perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are honored that you thought so highly of our staff.

We firmly believe that it is the people that make this house into a Home, and are honored to welcome our guests inside! Walter is a true gem, an absolute rarity in this day and age. We know that we are fortunate to have him and we sincerely appreciate your recognition of his service. I will ensure that Walter is aware of your praise. We do our very best to ensure that each of our guests receive exemplary service, and we are delighted that you were pleased by our offerings.

Again, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Savannah and at the Gastonian. I do hope that when your travels ever bring you back to Savannah, the Gastonian and its staff will have the pleasure of being your host once again. We will look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is in two old buildings. A bit rickety, but very nicely redone overall. Parking was pretty terrible. Had to park on the street one night. Doubled up in the back the other night. If you like modern amenities, elevators, easy entry, this isn't it. But I can stay at a Marriott anywhere--and don't, usually.

Breakfast was terrific. Afternoon "snacks" were fabulous. Dessert at night was outstanding.

As you would expect from a top notch B&B, the staff is very personal, helpful and friendly.

A bit of a hike from the river area and very quiet as a result. Which is good.

Overall, this was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Gastonian. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. The house itself is beautiful and well located for visiting the best parts of the historic district. The less than great part of the Gastonian is inherent in the nature of retrofitting an old building to be a bed and breakfast. Our bathroom and bathing situation in the carriage house was not ideal (sort of strange set up of the tub/shower combination off to the side, but in the bedroom itself - hard to climb in and out of the claw foot tub). But, that is part of the fun of these types of places. The bed was good and the sheets and linens were OK. We would stay here again, but will try other places next time.

Room Tip: The carriage house shower/tub will be hard for older travelers to get in and out of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for your time and review! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Gastonian, and sincerely appreciate your kind words concerning our very hard working staff!

You are correct, these older buildings can be tricky to retrofit. We have some very distinct features at the Gastonian, and have ensured that our retrofitting is more functional than quirky. Our Carriage House does have an open claw-foot bathtub in the guest room, with a separate water closet. It is a unique layout, and we appreciate that you took this design in stride. If you were not comfortable, we would have been happy to try to find room with amenities that you preferred to the open tub.

From your reviews, I can see that your travel often, and that this was not your first trip to Savannah. If you return to town, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I understand that you want to try some new places, and would be happy to tell you about some of my favorite accommodations in Savannah.

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

One of the highlights of our first trip to Savannah was the Gastonian. We loved the friendly staff, the spacious penthouse suite, the wine happy hour in the afternoon, and delicious dessert and port at night. All included!! The breakfast is delicious with lots of choices and the option of having silver tray service to your room each morning. The staff was extremely knowledgable and helpful with our plans and suggestions. Not only do you get a choice of wine in the afternoon, but the appetizers were excellent. We loved our room so much we could have just stayed in - however, it was up 3 flights of steep stairs so that could be a problem for some; just be aware of that. This was southern Savannah charm at it's finest! We will be back to Savannah and will stay at The Gastonian again. Thanks for a wonderful experience; I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is by far the best and most spacious room, but on the 3rd floor with no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie5493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Debbie5493,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are honored that you chose to spend your time in Savannah at the Gastonian, and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! I am particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Oglethorpe Penthouse, as we recently completed some upgrades and plan on adding more in the next few months.

We have added in some new furniture and a second television to our Oglethorpe Penthouse to make it a little more comfortable. We have even more furniture to add, as well as a change of accent rug over our beautiful original hardwood floors. We do hope that you will return to the Gastonian to see our changes!

Again, thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and services! We work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their time at the Gastonian. We sincerely appreciate the very nice things you said about our staff. We firmly believe that it is the people that make the Gastonian feel like home! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Property: The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing