We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our stay here was amazing - we will definitely return next summer! Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about Savannah. The Inn is within walking distance of River St and downtown - 2 blocks from Forsyth park. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was very romantic!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello again Alex A!

Thank you so much! We are always so delighted that guests choose the Gastonian to celebrate such momentous occasions as Honeymoons, weddings, and anniversaries! It is absolutely our pleasure to ensure that your Honeymoon is relaxing, romantic, and everything that you dreamed it would be! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in Savannah and at the Gastonian, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for many, many anniversaries to come!

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    105
    38
    27
    26
See reviews for
61
551
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was fortunate enough to be surprised by my boyfriend with a wonderful stay at the Gastonian to celebrate our one year anniversary. There is not one thing that I would have changed about our stay. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we packed up our car was impeccable. The personal welcome we received from the staff, beautiful suite, quiet mornings with hot coffee and the local newspaper, delicious appetizers, home cooked breakfast and fresh cookies for our nightly turn down were just some of the highlights. As you walk down the stairs with excitement onto the beautiful streets of Savannah to explore, you will be just as excited to walk back up them to enjoy this delightful bed and breakfast. Thank you once again for making our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: If you want a private oasis and don't mind a few stairs The Oglethorpe Penthouse was perfect!! V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello Nicole K!

We are so honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at the Gastonian, and very pleased to hear that your time with us was everything that you hoped for! Thank you very much for the kind recognition of our staff. We work very hard to introduce guests to Savannah, and it is always our goal to ensure that our guests receive an unparalleled experience while at the Gastonian! It was absolutely our pleasure to host your trip to Savannah, and we are so very much looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, new york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our two day stay at the Gastonian. On the plus side are the great location, pleasant staff and wonderful cooking/baking. On the minus side was our room which was very sparsely furnished and not very comfortable. Also, the air conditioning was noisy and the bed very hard.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuttyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco / Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We enjoyed the wonderful southern hospitality at The Gastonian! We slept in both mornings and had breakfast in the kitchen. The cheese grits were my favorite! The afternoon wine & hor d'ouevres was a lot of fun. We socialized with the other guests and enjoyed the drinks and food. One morning, I came downstairs and smelled brownies baking. Those brownies were served at the evening dessert and cordials. Bottled water and sodas are always available. The Gastonian will keep you happy and well fed. It felt more like staying in a luxurious home than a hotel.

Every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay happy.

This is a 150+ year old house, so please note that the rooms might have a few quirks and you will occasionally hear the other guests. Also, there is no elevator. None of this bothered me, but please consider these facts before booking your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShailaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Gastonian in Savannah was perfect. My husband has stayed here three times, and it was my first visit.

How many ways did I like it?

Great breakfasts. Ordered the night before from an extensive menu. Cooked to order. Delicious grits, eggs, fruit, waffles, and biscuits. Plenty of space to eat - either in the kitchen or at the formally set dining room table.

Fun wine hour at the end of the day with a selection of goodies to tide one over til dinner.

Comfortable front living room with some fine Savannah elegance (without being stuffy or over wrought.)

Very close to Forsyth Park and the Georgia Historical Society (for any genealogy or history buffs).

Quite close to a casual eatery called The Public that is favored by locals (and by us). Nice bar and a varied menu of items that are interesting and not expensive.

Many blocks from the River and the tourist attractions there. (Not our kind of scene.) Easy walking, though, to many of Savannah's unique squares and SCAD.

Very nice staff.

Room Tip: Loved the Julia Scarborough room. Huge, quiet, and in the main house at top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMCSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Good day, AMCSD!

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Savannah and at the Gastonian! We are very serious about our grits and our hospitality, and I am so very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in our home and with our staff! We look forward to welcoming you and your Mister back very soon!

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gastonian while on an elopement trip to Savannah. The hotel and its staff (especially our Lola) made our romantic wedding getaway all the more special. The room was charming and intimate, the staff was helpful, ever-friendly and courteous and the location is perfect such a unique and walkable city. I enjoyed long runs around Forsythe Park nearly every morning and long strolls each night with my love. We made friends and memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! It means so very much to us that guests choose the Gastonian to celebrate such momentous occasions, and I am thrilled that you felt your Elopement was so memorable and special. We absolutely believe that it should be.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition of Lola. We are so proud to have her with us, as she is our resident wedding and elopement expert.

Again, we are honored that you chose to have your wedding at the Gastonian. We look forward to welcoming you back to Savannah and to the Gastonian in the future!

Warmest regards,

Hallie Mobley
Innkeeper
The Gastonian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The gastonian provided the perfect savannah experience. It's location was quiet but convenient . Easy walking distance all around . Rooms were great and colorful. Lounge areas inside and out were wonderful. A great stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Property: The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing