We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay to get a feel of the old southern hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach,FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay to get a feel of the old southern hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

The staff and service were wonderful. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable. The staff gave great dining out suggestions as well as sites to see and tours to do. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. This definitely will not be out last stay at this charming inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    105
    38
    27
    26
See reviews for
62
551
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

What a wonderful surprise! Everything about Gastonian was first class!! Our room was superb--- large and extremely comfortable. The staff was exceptionally well trained and very responsive to any request. We loved the wine and hors douvres as well as our gourmet breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a more elegant place to stay--- and all this for a special winter rate. We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshlin526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

..you won't be disappointed if you choose the Gastonian. We stayed for a long weekend to get away from Miami. We chose the Gastonian after perusing trip advisor of course. I was hoping i made the right choice...and i did. The room was amazing. The location was great, and the happy hours were to die for. Each evening after touring we would arrive back at the gastonian and make our way down to the wine and hors d'oeuvres happy hour( hours.....) where there were always at least 3 different apps to choose from ( tip...if you like a certain appetizer, ask for the recipe and they will print it out for you so you can enjoy it at home) ....you can choose to mingle at happy hour or if your not that social....pull open the floor to ceiling windows and make your way out to the 2nd floor porch and enjoy your wine al fresco. The Gastonian is right in the historic district and within walking distance to great restaurants and sights.
If you are thinking of taking a trip to Savannah, don't think....just do it...the city is amazing
and staying at the Gastonian will make your stay that much more memorable....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHAYTOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

This was my first trip to Savannah and my husband and I decided to go there for our first wedding anniversary. We chose the Gastonian through a web-search for Savannah Bed and Breakfasts. We were especially impressed with how throroughly the web-site showed each room and the amenities available at The Gastonian. We had read in reviews that the bellman, Walter, was very willing to help and make personal accommodations for guests such as wine and dessert on the balcony or meals in the room. We found this to be especially true during our stay there. I would reccommend checking the rooms in advance. We were able to get the innkeeper's special and get an upgraded room (Shetfall Shetfall) for a reduced price. The food was delicious and everyone made us feel so welcome. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

We just spent 5 fantastic days and nights at the Gastonian. Our friends had previously been guests and highly recommended the Gastonian. What a delight this trip has been!

The front desk staff is outstanding and helped us in so many ways: they suggested great restaurants and always offered to make reservations, the helped us with all the local attractions and assisted my husband in planning a big surprise for me. Thanks you Laura, Joey and Karen!!!!!

Our room was large and beautiful but the Christmas decorations downstairs where simply breathtaking. It was so nice so see these very unique and elegant decorations. Congratulations Mr/Mrs. Decorator - job well done!!!!

We also really enjoyed the breakfast and all the other snacks offered throughout the day. The desserts were always yummy and it seemed that everything was prepared right there. The staff in the kitchen is delightful and it was great to meet other guests for breakfast and tea time.

The only thing I would change is a larger tv and maybe a full size mirror in the room - that is all.

Thanks for a great time - we love Savannah and will be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saskiaabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

The Gastonian is a slice of heaven with a little history mixed in. The hotel was once a mansion built in the 1800's and even with the conveniences it still holds its historic roots. Our room had a comfortable and cozy king sized bed, a flat screen tv, wireless internet, a gigantic shower, and a jacuzzi tub. When we got to our room we found a nice desert waiting for us. I lit the brick fire place ran a hot bath and enjoyed some romantic music with my special someone. After a romantic and restful nights sleep we were treated to a southern style breakfast cooked for us in the dining room by 2 of the nicest cooks to be found. The staff are very helpful and very pleasant if you really want to be pampered make sure you ask for Charles Smith it went way above the call of duty for us and is just a delight to talk to. The Gastonian is right in the middle of some of Savannah's most historic and beautiful building and parks. Do yourself a favor and treat your special someone to a night at the Gastonian,

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f4phantomii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Gastonian on our visit to Savannah to plan our wedding. It was a rainy, chilly weekend and coming home to the Gastonian was always the highlight to our days. Being able to turn on the fireplace in our room and warm up was wonderful. The Inn was also decorated beautifully for the holidays. Our room was charming and the bed was ultra comfortable. Breakfast, tea time and desserts were each excellent. All of the staff from Melanie, the Inn Keeper who greeted us warmly, to the Concierges, Bellman and the Chef are the epitome of southern hospitality. Our stay was relaxing, and just what we needed. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Property: The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing