We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice amenities, really noisy room, unhelpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
362 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Nice amenities, really noisy room, unhelpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a classy old B&B with an antique type décor. They have a very good breakfast prepared by a good cook, there is a happy hour with wine and snacks at 5:30 and desert at 8:30. The happy hour and desert are held in the parlor, which is the common area. These events gave us the opportunity to meet the other guests and have some nice conversations.
Unfortunately, we were in room 110. In this hotel, registration is on the second floor. Room 110 is entered directly from the sidewalk. Room 110 is on the first floor, next to the entry steps and below registration and directly below the parlor. This means that from just before 7:00AM until 10:30PM there are constant steps and constant talking from above this unit with very little noise insulation. Both the happy hour and the desert are held directly above this unit. As result, you cannot go to bed before 10:30 or sleep in past 7:00 or take a nap.
We were also disappointed with the staff at registration. We checked in at 1:30 and the lady at check in made it clear that she had no time to help us in any way. She passed us off to some guy to show us around and take us to our room. He went so fast that my wife could not keep up. We are used to the people at reception helping us with sightseeing, restaurants, etc. This was not possible here.
We would return here but would be very careful with the room assignment. There are some good rooms and some bad rooms.

Room Tip: Be careful of the rooms which you enter from the sidewalk and any rooms close to the outside or inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    178
    52
    26
    11
See reviews for
133
669
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I chose this hotel based on TA reviews and stayed one night in a standard room. I arrived early (at 7am) and though a room wasn't ready, Alexine at the front desk was so warm and helpful--I felt like I was being welcomed by family. She made sure I was comfortable in the parlour, had access to breakfast, and helped get me oriented to the city--I was tired and the attention she showed was really appreciated. My room was cozy and the wifi connection was strong. Lots of tasty choices for breakfast (a hot item, biscuits, grits, sausage and bacon, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc). I loved the evening wine and cheese hour and the later dessert time--these were great opportunities to chat with other guests. I was travelling solo and ended up going for dinner with guests I met during the wine & cheese hour. Also, sherry available for a nightcap--just another example of the spirit of generosity and hospitality that pervades this inn. Would love to stay here again and would 100% recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank violetvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after our wedding for couple of days and it was perfect!!! Beautiful surroundings, food was great, room cozy and everything we needed!! We would definitely come back and stay here!!! It was a short walk from downtown but the location on Jones Street was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanatucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband & I were glad this property was located a few blocks away from the busier & noisier areas. We enjoyed walking up beautiful Bull St. through the lovely parks and squares, but were glad to return to the more peaceful neighborhood on Jones Street. Our room was well decorated with beautiful furniture and paintings. I also noticed that the mattress was quite comfortable. We especially enjoyed having a glass of wine in the front parlor before we left for dinner so that we could meet & chat with some of the other guests. Breakfast was very nice in the beautiful interior courtyard. The staff was very friendly and eager to please & help in any way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swilt46920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amiga1109
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My 2 sisters and I stayed for 3 nights in the A. Turner room. It was clean, inviting and very comfortable. Everything was within walking distance although it seems a bit far on the map. Breakfast was very good and Miss. Virginia was very kind . Brandon and Erin were very polite and accommodating. The appetizers and wine were a plus! Of course, I must admit that my sisters and I enjoyed having a Sherry nightcap which was freely available in the parlor. Would I stay here again? ABSOLUTELY

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main house. Other guests had rooms in the lower floors and stated how they enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amiga1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
362 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

By husband and I stayed here for our fifteen anniversary celebration. Due to multiple plane delays we arrived in Savannah at 3:00 in the morning. We had called the hotel to let them know we could be that late and they told us not to worry someone was at the desk 24 hours. I don't usually like small inns or B&Bs as they lack privacy and you feel that people are keeping track of you. We wanted to stay somewhere that had alot of charm. This place certainly fit that bill. And it is big enough that you have plenty of privacy. We stayed in the main Inn in the only room that has a king bed. The room was very attactive. It had a fireplace and a nice poster bed. It didn't have any view, however. It looked out on another building. There was only about a foot between the window and the wall of the next building. So don't expect to get any air from the windows. The air condition worked well however so it really wasn't an issue for us. If we went back however, I might sacrifice the kind bed for a room with a view. The only other issue was that the bathroom was very small. No way to sit on the throne without having the shower curtain hitting your leg. The breakfast which was included every morning was really nice--good selection. Loved the biskets. We only went to the wine and cheese hour once due to our plans but that was also very enjoyable. The staff at the hotel were all very accomodating. My husband arranged for the romance package one night--came back to champagne and rose petals. Very nice. I would recommend this Inn for a Romantic weekend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I loved everything about Eliza Thompson, The rooms had great old character and the folks that run this small hotel were very warm and helpful. The highlight was the lovely garden with fountain that was wonderful for enjoying complementary wine and snacks in the evening and breakfast buffet in the morning. A great location just a couple blocks from Forsyth Park in an area with many old mansions and green squares, a bit away from the rowdier tourist scene near the river.

Room Tip: From our room overlooking the garden, we could hear the relaxing sounds of water from the fountain e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaFunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing