We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great. Very happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just great. Very happy.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here solo. Very happy with my choice. Lee Room in the main house. I think Main House is probably the way to go. Friendly staff. Great location. Loved the bkfst, cheese and wine time and dessert time (loved the dessert time a little TOO much judging by the scale when I got home!). I only wish the weather was a little better so I could have enjoyed the courtyard more.

Room Tip: Stay the main house. Take advantage of the lovely parlour at wine/cheese time to mingle with others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesimallpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    186
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
140
701
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This place is very well located because it is a block away from Mrs. Wilkes restaurant! :) The B&B is nice. They serve wine and cheese in the early evening and late night they served petite cupcakes and cake. We thought it was a nice touch. Breakfast is OK- home cooked with a fair selection. We had a room on the ground floor. I guess this is the case with old buildings, but you can hear the water running in other rooms which can be disruptive. It is a drawback so I would imagine if you rent a room on the top floor it will not be a problem. Our room did not have any real storage just an armoire so it was a bit awkward storing our clothes. Parking is annoying. They do not have a parking area so you need to park on the street and make sure you are lined up with the meter or, you guessed it- you get a ticket. Also, if you are parking overnight, etc. it is best to pay for an extended pass-the B&B can provide this. The people were nice, but a bit disorganized in getting our room ready. They are located on a very nice block with mature trees and are in a nice place that allows you to walk to places rather than drive. Would I stay there again, maybe, if there is not another place in the same area, if not yes, but top floor because of the water.

Room Tip: Try the top floor to avoid plumbing noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the B&B. We walked all over the historic district and didn't move our car once. I recommend room 130 which is very spacious and has windows on both the street and the courtyard. Afternoon drinks let us meet other interesting guests. Evening desserts were great. We'd appreciate some fresh fruit with breakfast.

Room Tip: I recommend room 130 which is very spacious and has windows on both the street and the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Loved the location, very friendly staff, great breakfasts, comfortable beds. We just think the floors could be cleaner, not vacuumed we'll enough. The bathroom fans were pretty clogged with lots of dust. Otherwise beds we're clean as well as bathtub

Room Tip: Check rooms online. Some are bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lejardinmanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very intimate, low key property for those looking for an out of the way hotel.Love the breakfast which you can take out into the courtyard. Great location to see and wander over all of the history of "Old Savannah". Excellent staff that will look out for any of your personal needs, and within walking distance of any significant historical site in downtown. Many good restaurants nearby as well.

Room Tip: Each room is different and tastefully appointed in the old Southern Style. There is not a bad room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We chose this property based on location, availability (2 month in advance), and price. The location was almost perfect. It was right in the middle of the Historic District with easy walking to the most important sights. It was nice to have each day at 5:30PM complimentary wine and snacks and at 8:30pm some desserts. Some breakfast items were changed each of 3 days we stayed and were very tasty.. My only complaints there were that it was chilly sitting out in the open under the walkway, the food was a little too salty (I guess a Southern tradition), and breakfast began at 8AM. Now for the things we were not happy about. The room was very basic for such a historic house compared to other rooms after spending $210/night total. There was no turn down service each night as described on TA (no big deal). They kept the outside fountains going all night (to aerate the fish I guess), but it was a little irritating. The bathroom was pretty cramp. But the worst part was that the bath tub knobs looked like they were not cleaned for months. They were covered with soap scum and corrosion. It was disgusting (what you might find in a $39 motel). All they needed to do is use Comet or Soft Scrub from the very beginning of the installation each day. I would have given 3.5 stars, but I couldn't so I was generous with 4.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed for a single night - was visiting Savannah because of the book & was very happy to remember, while re-reading it on the train, that Jones Street featured. On the Book Tour that I took, it turned out that Joe Odom & John Berendt lived down the street.

The staff were lovely - I got in at 7am & the lady at reception let me leave my bags with her & directed me to the diner around the corner (Clary's Diner - from the book) for breakfast. When I came back, the room was ready & lovely - great shower, too.

The cheese & wine pre-dinner reception and post-dinner desert gathering was a nice way to meet other guests and breakfast the next morning was really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,628 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,994 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing