We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our favorite place to stay in Savannah
Wine hour is a great way to meet fellow guests and get ideas where to go and where to eat and more travel spots to visit. We go there in February and October
October is really our favorite time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    186
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
139
700
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Went for a long weekend with some friends. The house was everything I expected from a historic building. Expect some creaks & character! Beds were super comfy, breakfast every morning was delicious and the happy hour was fantastic each day. The B&B even provided menus from some of the local restaurants, which was helpful.
I had a king size bed room that opened up into the courtyard. I was able to hear the fountain all night, which I loved. The bathroom was SMALL but, we weren't in the room all that often, anyway. This is one of the only B&Bs that has a courtyard, so enjoy. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Jones Street is one of the most beautiful streets ever. This was my first experience at a B&B and I will definitely be going again! It is within walking distance of everything-River Street, the squares, shopping district, etc. Be aware, this B&B does NOT allow children. It was perfect for our "mom's weekend away" and would be fantastic for a couple's getaway.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, choose a room looking onto the courtyard, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went for a girls shopping/eating/fun trip. Stayed in the Telfair room(two beds entry from the street). The breakfast was delicious each morning, The staff was super. The happy hour was awesome. The beds were comfy. Great location. Great value. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannisHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed overnight at the Thompson House, an anniversary gift from our children. The hotel is attractive from the street & the reception area was well furnished tho a bit shabby. Our bedroom was pleasant and well furnished except for the bathroom. This space made Motel 6 look upscale. The toilet was small and low, the wall and floor coverings were all plastic, the shower faucet didnt work and I could get no hot water at all for a shower. I finally gave up because I didn't want to freeze in cold water. The same situation with the sink, the faucet was cheap and didn't work, I never could get hot water in the sink. This bathroom needs to be completely redone to at least a minimum standard. The towels and toiletries were both way below standard for an hotel of this type. The breakfast was good, the dining room and courtyard pleasant, and the staff seemed to care about the hotel clientele.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRita39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I truly enjoyed this bed and breakfast during a week long stay at the end of February. The location is very convenient to the historic district. Don't miss Mrs Wilkes Boarding House next door for a fun and wonderful meal.

William, whose title I do not know, was a great help during our stay. He was very professional and always ready to go the extra mile.

If you decide to go, try to stay in the main house. The carriage house rooms are nice, but the interior rooms are amazing and the same price.

Breakfast is served every morning and offers a pretty good variety -- although the grits sat there in a huge pot every morning, almost untouched. The lady who prepares breakfast every morning is an intimidating and wonderful lady. If I could muster the nerve to ask her for anything, I always felt both satisfied and scolded. :). In fact the staff as a whole went out of their way to accommodate any request.

Room Tip: Stay inside of the house!!! The fountain in the courtyard is nice but sometimes loud. The air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had stayed in the Eliza Thompson House several times in the 1990s when we were stopping in Savannah, and have just this week rediscovered the city and the inn. It has not lost its charm, and still provides the little extras--brandy and afternoon tea and coffee in the parlor, for instance--that distinguished it even then. It is nestled in the elegant mid-19th century quarter around Pulaski Square -- quieter than the tourist drag close to the river, but splendid for dolce-far-niente ambling about.

We had a room with two double beds just off the entrance, and it was meticulously furnished and maintained. WiFi too was excellent (an amenity not to be taken for granted), and the breakfast service in the courtyard was varied and filling.

You go to Savannah not so much for great historical and cultural sights as for the unique atmosphere created by many small historical and cultural sights, miraculously preserved in elegant homes built around gracious squares. At the Eliza Thompson House you experience the atmosphere before you step out the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trentonmakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at the Eliza Thompson House in mid February and it was absolutely fantastic. We arrived and there is someone to help you with your luggage and then you get a tour of where everything is located. It was great. The staff is sooooo nice and extremely helpful. We could ask them anything and they would know the answer from restaurants to if a tourist spot was worth seeing. The room was clean and so quaint. We stayed in the Adminral Turner room. Loved it!!! They have a cocktail hour which was great to meet others staying at the B & B, and then dessert around 8:00. We met so many nice people during this time. The breakfast was fantastic. it wasn't just a continental breakfast. it was eggs, biscuits, bacon, sausage, ham, cereal, toast, grits, coffee, orange juice, etc. It was wonderful and you could talk to others you met the night before. This is probably one of the best B & Bs I have ever stayed in. Every staff member was exceptional and so friendly. They always said hello and were so helpful. The location was also great. Just a short walk to the different squares and places of interest. I highly recommend this place if you come to Savannah!!

Room Tip: Look on their website to check out the different rooms. They are all so quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,991 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing