We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay at the Eliza Thompson house. The staff is very nice. The hotel is in a great location- very romantic and picturesque part of Savannah. Walking distance to some very nice restaurants. We stayed in the main house in the Lindsey room which was nice, but the only windows face a wall so next time we will try one of the other main rooms. The bed was pretty uncomfortable too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heathermoonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed in the room right off the parlor. It was excellent. The beds and bedding were perfect. The breakfast is good, the wine & cheese hour is nice and the overall appearance of the place is excellent. I'm looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Could not have been more pleased with our room and our location. Our room,2 queen beds, located near the front of the house,was spacious and quiet. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe that breakfast , a 5 o'clock happy hour and a 9 o'clock dessert were included. It was an easy walk to the river, all of the squares, and all of the historic places in the district. We will return with our other sisters.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent two nights here, wanted a change ffrom Hilton - and it is. The room is comfortable but not very spacious. The AC is noisy and plced so it creates a draft on the bed. The bathroom is very small.
The staff at the Reception are chatty and helpful, although the chat level is obviously more appreciated by Americans than Europeans.
The wine and snacks at 5pm are nice, but you have to endure incessant questioning by the American guests.
The breakfast is average, no bacon, no scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: I don't recommend a room at the garden level. Breakfast is served right outside those rooms so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wonderful place to stay. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Loved the wine and appetizers at 5.30. It allowed us to meet some interesting people from many different backgrounds and places. I would have given it a 5 star rating but the bathrooms are very small and there was nowhere to put my clothes. That being said, the room was charming and everything else about the Inn made those two niggles very insignificant. Miss Virginia makes a mean breakfast too!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SueA385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here in March and had a great visit. This inn is located in a quite, beautiful area of Savannah with restored homes and buildings in all directions. We were able to walk to restaurants and several of the squares easily from this local (the Mercer Williams house is just behind the Inn if you have read "the book"). The morning breakfast buffet was excellent and some of the foods were obviously made by hand with pride (best pancakes ever). The evening reception was nice and plentiful for per-dinner gatherings. The Oglethorpe Trolley Tour was a nice city tour AND after the tour you can jump on or off the trollies as you desire; one of the stops is just a block from the Inn o that made for convenience as well. Overall, we have to recommend the Eliza Thompson house.... and if the bathroom had been bigger we would have given it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Our bathroom in a courtyard room was functional but tiny. They may not all be so ask if it is import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

An excellent two day stay at Eliza Thompson house, which is centred around a lovely old building - although most of the rooms are in the more modern wings. There is a very pleasant central courtyard with fountain.
We had a warm welcome and helpful service with a comfortable room in an excellent location. I guess that is really everything that I am looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TJCLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 116 in Savannah
1,416 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
2,999 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 116 in Savannah
1,351 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £131 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing