We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Eliza House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here in April for 2 nights with my husband. I wish it had been a longer stay. I enjoyed the inn immensely. Like others have mentioned, the bathroom was small but everything else was perfect. The room was clean and well-appointed. The coffee hour was fun, meeting other travelers and sharing tips and restaurant suggestions and the city of Savannah was beautiful. Too bad there were torrential downpours the night we arrived. Luckily, it cleared up the following day and we had a wonderfull time in this beautiful city. Would highly recommedn the Eliza Thompson House to friends and family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DGlavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful vacation in savannah. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our time at the Eliza Thompson. We especially enjoyed meeting and visiting with other guests during complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese and dessert time. We definitely would stay again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bmwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay at the Eliza Thompson house. The staff is very nice. The hotel is in a great location- very romantic and picturesque part of Savannah. Walking distance to some very nice restaurants. We stayed in the main house in the Lindsey room which was nice, but the only windows face a wall so next time we will try one of the other main rooms. The bed was pretty uncomfortable too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heathermoonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed in the room right off the parlor. It was excellent. The beds and bedding were perfect. The breakfast is good, the wine & cheese hour is nice and the overall appearance of the place is excellent. I'm looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Could not have been more pleased with our room and our location. Our room,2 queen beds, located near the front of the house,was spacious and quiet. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe that breakfast , a 5 o'clock happy hour and a 9 o'clock dessert were included. It was an easy walk to the river, all of the squares, and all of the historic places in the district. We will return with our other sisters.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent two nights here, wanted a change ffrom Hilton - and it is. The room is comfortable but not very spacious. The AC is noisy and plced so it creates a draft on the bed. The bathroom is very small.
The staff at the Reception are chatty and helpful, although the chat level is obviously more appreciated by Americans than Europeans.
The wine and snacks at 5pm are nice, but you have to endure incessant questioning by the American guests.
The breakfast is average, no bacon, no scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: I don't recommend a room at the garden level. Breakfast is served right outside those rooms so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wonderful place to stay. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Loved the wine and appetizers at 5.30. It allowed us to meet some interesting people from many different backgrounds and places. I would have given it a 5 star rating but the bathrooms are very small and there was nowhere to put my clothes. That being said, the room was charming and everything else about the Inn made those two niggles very insignificant. Miss Virginia makes a mean breakfast too!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SueA385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,393 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 115 in Savannah
1,323 reviews
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £116 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing