We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in historic Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B in historic Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Eliza Thompson House was exactly what we were looking for - a lovely old B&B in a quiet, historic area of Savannah. We easily walked to Forsyth Park, the City Market (recommend Belford's for a quality lunch), and all the wonderful park squares. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The breakfasts were very tasty and filling. Ms. Virginia was very welcoming. We also loved the dessert offerings in the evening! Great to have that available after having a meal out. We love Savannah in general and would definitely stay at the Eliza Thompson House if/when we return.

Room Tip: We had a quiet, private room on the first level in the corner of the Courtyard. Lots of great ambian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    182
    54
    27
    11
See reviews for
135
681
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Eliza Thompson House is full of character(s). There's a sheltered courtyard, complete with water features, comfortable lounge, olde worlde bedrooms, delicious breakfast, scrumptious cakes in the evening and best of all helpful, friendly, nothing-is-too-much-trouble for them staff. We loved it here. We were a bit concerned about the street parking for our hire car-we drove in from Charleston, but we found a space when we needed one. Parking is free from 5 or 6pm (not sure which) to 8am Mon-Fri and free all day Sat and Sun. The hotel will provide you with a 48 hour parking permit for $12 if needed-the cost is added to your bill. One side of the road is swept in the early hours of Saturday and the other side in the early hours of Sunday, so you can't leave your car overnight on the sweepy side of the road (well you can but it will probably removed) We didn't find it a problem and just moved our car as and when. Savannah is an easily walkable city and a car is not necessary. Stay at the Eliza Thompson House and have a treat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My best friend and I stayed here and what a treat it was! The room was gorgeous and the staff was so helpful and kind. Breakfast in the courtyard was delicious and the chef very gracious! The wine and cheese reception is such a great idea and the dessert and coffee that follows..spectacular!

The beds are amazing and the decor is exactly what one would expect for this type of luxurious room. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street. I would request an inside room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This Inn is in a perfect position in the centre of the historic District of Savannah.The staff were really professional and friendly especially Virginia who cooked excellent breakfasts the 2 mornings we stayed .The Complimentary wine and snacks in the afternoon and Desert and coffee in the evenings were a lovely additional touch and a good chance to chat and share travels with other guests.We stayed in a Courtyard room which was clean, comfortable and very quiet. Parking is on the road and obviously you take your chance as to where you can get a space ( it is residential after all) however there were plenty of spaces around the inn and we managed to park our car right outside and thought that $12 for 48 hours parking in the middle of a city was exceptional value. if we ever return to Savannah we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very lovely. It was the perfect location and the complimentary offerings were better than expected. The courtyard was lovely and the beds exceptionally comfortable. I'd recommend a room off the courtyard though for better privacy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location on Jones St. We were able to either walk or catch a peddle cab to all destinations. Free breakfast in courtyard with wine and cheese in early evening and desert and coffee later evening. Good value for the area and courteous service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyfeet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Yorks.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

On the plus side the location is great and Brandon is a charming and helpful young man. The evening wine and nibbles is a great way to meet other guests.
However, on the negative side the bedroom and bathroom were grubby, the breakfast poor,(very similar to a Staybridge Hotel self service buffet which you clear away yourself). On the morning after it had rained no one thought to dry off the chairs so we all sat under the porch alongside the breakfast buffet. One couple were sitting on their bathroom towels. One day dirty towels were in two piles on the balcony outside the bedrooms until late into the afternoon. Parking is an issue as is moving your car to the "right" side of the street on Fridays and Saturdays to allow for street cleaning.These things matter when you are paying this price. I had read other reviews but I was disappointed and can't recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor of the extension. The fountain is on all night and you will hear the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ticketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing