We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Nearby Hotels
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The DeSoto(Savannah)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$178
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
951
194
57
30
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
951
194
57
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjones streetwine and cheeseb bbeautiful streetthe main houseother guestsegg casserolegarden courtyarddessert hourhistoric districthomemade dessertsbed and breakfaststreet parkingparking passsouthern hospitalityevening winebreakfast is served
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We look forward to many more.The courtyard was beautiful and serene. This is a great place to stay in the historic district in a lovely quiet area. Everyone is very helpful and nice. The king size bed was very comfortable and they had easy accessible WiFi. The wine & cheese was a very lovely touch after walking around Savannah. We enjoyed meeting other people from around the country who were staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Staci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Eliza Thompson house is located on Jones St. This is by far the prettiest street in Savannah. The hotel is nicely done and takes you back to another time. The staff is super friendly and helpful. It's easy and safe to walk to restaurants and attractions. Parking might be a problem but we took a taxi from the airport and never needed a car. The hotel provides a very nice breakfast which you can eat outdoors in a quaint courtyard. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brandstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Eliza Thompson house in the Fall of 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were given the "most haunted" room in the house that was on the top floor located inside of the actual original home. We loved reading about the home's history in the book that was located inside of our room. Our room was very nice and we enjoyed the turn down service each evening. The bathroom was a little cramped, but this is an older home that has been converted to a bed and breakfast. The bed was super comfortable and relaxing.

The House is a bit of a hike from River Street and City Market, but if you're ok with walking and/or staying more on the outskirts of the action this is the place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our leisurely walks back from the "party" scene of River Street and City Market each night.

The buffet style breakfast was excellent. I especially enjoyed the biscuits. In addition, the wine and cheese hour was also a major pplus. My husband and I attended it twice and loved drinking the complimentary wine in the courtyard. We never made it to the dessert hour, but I heard it was nice as well.

Would we come back to the Eliza Thompson House? You'd better believe it! It's a little extra money than some of the other bed and breakfasts in the city, but it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter room stay inside the main house. If you choose a courtyard room you'll be able to hear the hustle and bustle from the breakfast service each morning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We could not have enjoyed ourselves more at this lovely inn as we celebrated our 15th anniversary. We arrived just in time for wine and cheese which we chose to take to the beautiful courtyard. A wonderful atmosphere in the parlor, where appetizers were served, was also available with several couples enjoying a glass of wine and each others' company. Our room, The Liberty on the third floor overlooking the beautiful courtyard, was nice and cool when we checked in....just the way we like it. Staying on the third floor was perfect for us as we prefer to arrive for breakfast a little late.....so no noise from the early breakfast bunch. Breakfast in the courtyard was amazing. Miss Virginia makes the best biscuits ever. We enjoyed meeting other guests including new friends from Florida and Las Vegas. The Jones Street location is near many shops, restaurants, and historic sites. Since we had already been traveling a few days, we took advantage of a very reasonable laundry service at the end of the block. Another highlight was meeting Bailey, a beautiful yellow lab, at the Pink House gift store on the corner. THANKS to ALL of the staff for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our trip to Savannah was really a one night stop over on our way to Orlando but we wish we could’ve stayed longer. When we arrived at the Inn, we were promptly and politely greeted by a gentleman who offered to carry any of our bags. Check-in was no problem and we were in our room in no time. Our Garden Courtyard King room was on the third floor in the corner overlooking their beautiful courtyard. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and that had a historic charm to it. While trying to decide what to do with our short time in Savannah, we picked up some brochures down by the desk and decided on a ghost tour. While we had no luck in making reservations for the Hearse Ghost Tours, the man at the front desk went above and beyond to book us a tour for that night. The next morning after a quick jog around the area, we had a healthy and delicious breakfast in the courtyard. Check out was just as easy as checking in and the lady at the front desk gave us a wealth of information and directions for getting around Savannah. We had a memorable time in Savannah and it all started with the Eliza Thompson Inn. Anytime we’re back in Savannah, we’ll be making reservations here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews