We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the chain hotels - this B&B is so much better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very lovely – my sister and I stayed here and really enjoyed this B&B! Great location in the heart of Savannah, beautiful courtyard, lots of character, excellent service, on and on… It really felt like coming home every time we walked through the door. All the staff was super friendly, and the daily cocktail hour was fun to chat with other guests. Centrally located within walking distance to all Savannah has to offer, but not on a busy street. It was also nice that they have some rooms with two beds, for non-couples. One example of the service: I walked to the front desk to ask for a wine bottle opener, and within about 15 seconds, three people offered me one! Would definitely recommend the Eliza Thompson House!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights here for our 10th anniversary. From the moment we walked in until we turned in our keys, our stay was perfect! We stayed in one of the Queen Garden Courtyard rooms. The room was great, with a nice view into the courtyard below and very private, despite a room next door.
Breakfast cooked by Miss Virginia every morning was delicious! On the last morning she noticed that my husband wasn't eating the main entree and offered to cook him eggs any way he wanted them. She cooked him scrambled eggs even though that wasn't what was on the buffet! We enjoyed the wine and hors d'oeuvres reception every night and liked having that opportunity to chat with other guests about restaurants, activities and other things to do in Savannah.
When we had questions about where to eat or which tour to take, Nell was able to give great recommendations.
We had a fantastic stay and would definitely stay there if we're able to go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank caba324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wonderful place to stay. From the staff to the beautifully tree lined street, to the breakfast in courtyard. Breakfast was very good and so relaxing with the sound of the fountains. It was comfortable and pleasant place to be. Location was perfect and everything was in easy walking distance. Jones street is absolutely the most beautiful street in Savannah. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was large and so Savannah. I loved it. We were in the Chatham room which was very clean and beautifully mantained. Housekeeping and turn down service wonderful. We enjoyed taking the hor d'ouerves to our room to relax in our room and talk about our day, on the days we were able. I would definetly recommend staying at the Eliza
Thompson House and will stay again if returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited the Eliza Thompson Home on the recommendation of our close friends (who came with us for their second stay), everything they said about this wonderful place came true, from the great staff, fantastic breakfast, wine & cheese and Hors D"ouevres in the afternoon and dessert snacks late in the evening. We couldn't have asked for a better location in Savannah.
I would strongly recommend staying at this beautiful old home!!!

Room Tip: Room 111, Street level and private. Easy access to the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 892Taffy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a terrific time staying at the Eliza Thompson House for the past two days. The bed and breakfast was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and nice. Nell who works the desk has been outstanding. She was very helpful last month when I set the reservation, and continued to be great throughout our stay. We enjoyed the breakfast, wine and cheese, and dessert. I most enjoyed spending time meeting the other guest during these complementary meals and snacks. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A lovely B&B in Historical Savannah! Great location in among other older homes and parks. Friendly and helpful staff with a tour of the House on arriving. Very nice wine, cheese and greet reception at 5:30, and dessert in the evening. The breakfast in the walled garden was very peaceful and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cecil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, friendly staff. The courtyard for breakfast is very nice. We did not experience any problems. This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast. The rooms are not the typical size of a hotel room but we did not expect them to be. They met the purpose which was a nice place to sleep and get ready to explore all Savannah has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_Plunkett225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,889 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,357 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 115 in Savannah
1,289 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#14 of 115 in Savannah
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £124 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing