We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in historical Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast. We chose the Eliza Thompson House because of good reviews. Wow! Were we pleased! Our room was beautiful (I suggest you try to get Room 130) and our stay at the Eliza Thompson House added to the experience of seeing historic Savannah. We enjoyed breakfast in the garden each morning, wine and cheese in the afternoons (when we weren't out exploring) and dessert and coffee each evening (when we weren't out playing late).

Nell was a fabulous host and we enjoyed our time visiting with her. Kevin was also very helpful and friendly.

We plan on returning to Savannah as soon as possible and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shtadlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
There are newer reviews for Eliza Thompson House Savannah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2009

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our vacation. It was a wonderful little place. We had a pretty good sized room that overlooked a central courtyard with a fountain. This is an old house that really puts you back in the spirit of the early days of Savannah. They serve breakfast in the courtyard in the morning and they server wine, pastries, and snacks in the sitting room in the evening.

The staff was helpful and nice. Free parking pass for parking on the street (and all over historic Savannah). Our stay was very laid back and the place was quiet, there were a few other couples but we pretty much felt like we had the whole place to ourselves (not that many rooms to begin with).

Only negative was we had to drive down to the river front, would have been nicer to stay closer. You could walk it but it's quite a hike.

Great stay!! Would stay again.

Check out our blog (------------------)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripsthatdontsuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We had a Girlfriend Getaway to Savannah. The Eliza Thompson house was wonderful!! Every detail from the room, the concierge, Kevin, and the breakfast and snacks were beyond our expectations. The location is quiet but close to downtown. I did a lot of research and Eliza was the best location and value. On our last morning, we walked to Mrs. Wilkes for lunch ( one block). The breakfast was excellant...choices from an egg casserole to cereal and everything in between.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon in Savannah, where we stayed at this charming historic inn. The Eliza Thompson house was an EXCELLENT choice for us. It is located in the historic district, within walking distance of all Savannah attractions, and yet on a quiet street and away from the bustle of the riverfront -- perfect for a honeymooning couple. Our room was in the main inn building. From the layout, it seemed to be one of the smaller rooms in the inn, but was perfectly ample for us. The furnishings were charming and very comfortable. The inn provides an wonderful buffet breakfast each morning the courtyard (fantastic! My husband could not stop eating the biscuits!) and there are appetizers and drinks in the parlor in the early evenings, and dessert and coffee in the late evening. The turndown service is lovely touch. They really take quite good care of you here. We were sorry to go, but are already looking forward to returning to Savannah in the future! (What a wonderful place to visit.) I would absolutely return to the Eliza Thompson House, or I would consider one of the other properties run by the same people (I believe they are called the Historic Bed and Breakfasts of Savannah, or something very similar). They have a few other historic properties in the area and seem to provide the same service and amenities at each.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoilerJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

A great bed and breakfast on a beautiful street. this was my first B&B and now I think I'm spoiled. The price is a little steep but well worth it. You definitely get what you pay for. You get a great hot/cold breakfast every morning. The rooms were very clean and the staff was wonderful. I recommend you stick around in the evening for the wine tasting!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomomorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

I have stayed at the Eliza Thompson House several times, and my favorite room is #130. I checked in last night and discovered it has been1 recently renovated. It is even more beautiful then before. Great job to the Innkeeper

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Recently my girlfriends and I took a trip to North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. While in Georgia we stayed at The Eliza Thompson House for 3 days. The staff was very, very attentive. The moment we pulled up in front of the house, we had Tony at our car door welcoming and ushering us into the house while he paid the meter and unloaded the car. Check in was a breeze and pleasant. We had reserved the Telfair Room, which was wonderfully sized for the 4 of us ladies. Upon entrance, we found Tony had all of our luggage arranged on stands, our beds turned down, chocolates on the pillows and robes placed thoughtfully for each of us. He also had the forecast for the following day prepared on a card, which was placed by the on CD player at the bed side. These nice touches were repeated each evening. There were 2 very comfortable queen beds, with lovely linens (all appeared to be brand new). The bathroom was not huge, but a fine size. The room had multiple mirrors which came in very handy for all of us getting ready at the same time. Our door opened up to the outdoors and faced Jones Street (the street just in front of the inn). Breakfast was served each morning (on the patio), which consisted of an egg/cheese casserole, hashbrowns, grits, bacon, sausage, yougurt, fruit and a variety of breads, hot drinks and juices. Each evening a lovely spread of appetizers and wine were served in the "living room or lounge". Later each evening, there was a cake and hot drinks available in the same area. There was a computer with internet access always available, with a printer as well in the living room. I found the Eliza Thompson house (as a whole, my room, the house itself, and the outdoors) to be very comfortable and extremely pleasant. The staff really went out of their way to make us feel special and they truly seem to love their jobs. One evening for example we had another guest coming in, which we picked up at the airport. When we returned, there was no parking immediately in front of the house, but instead just across Bull Street. The attendants are so observant, Kevin in this case, saw us arrive and park a bit a way, and he raced over to help with luggage! That was outstanding! I read several reviews when deciding where to stay while in Savannah, and a few times The Eliza Thompson House had dustiness mentioned -- I went out of my way to find some trace and was happily unable!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MaryBethOnTheGo-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,805 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,106 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £122 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing