We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

After reading all the reviews from Trip Advisor I booked 2 rooms in Avia for my husband, daughter and me. My husband and I stayed in a Grand Studio Hosting Suite (room 612) and my daughter in a Classic King Guestroom (room 616).
The suite was crowded with lots of furniture but what we really didn´t like is that the bathroom door (which is located on a wall by the bed) is a sliding white glass door, which made it very uncomfortable because it didn´t close as a regular door (which meant lack of privacy) and during the night if someone used the bathroom the whole bedroom was lighted because the light went through the white glass....on the other hand, my daughter´s bedroom and bathroom were the regular ones, so it was more comfortable. A turndown for these kind of suites.

The staff are very nice (specially the lady who was in charge of the hot station during breakfast) and we didn´t find the concierge as helpful as other people have stated, as a matter of fact, we didn´t really received the help we expected from her.

The bed and pillows were great and the bathrooms were nice and big.

For us the location was good but we would have preferred to stay in one of the beautiful squares along the HD but the Avia is very close to the Riverfront and the Central Market, which is great because you find nice places to eat and also some tours.

Overall the Hotel is very good but, as somebody reviewed before, if you come to Savannah you would like to stay in one of the beautiful B&B Inns along the Historic District, and that is what we would do next time.

Room Tip: Upper floors and try to avoid overlooking Ellis Square because it is noisy, due to the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,725 - 2,731 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Trouble parking to check in dissolved into ease when the valets jumped in. $20 per day to valet park is worth noting when counting $$ for the stay. Loved the security measures, valets at the door, lots of people in the lobby, had to have room key to make the elevator work. Upgraded my room to a same room suite only after being asked to pay an additional $20 per day. Truly, room was BEAUTIFUL!! The most comfortable bed I have had in a long time, kids didn't mind the couch (which didn't fold out) and floor (we brought sleeping bags). Too much temptation in the room for the boys, they wanted to eat all the mini bar snacks ($6 for each item). Last and biggest problem, I understood from the conversations I had with the staff checking in that breakfast buffet was included with the room. My boys and I tried all kinds of stuff, including shrimp and grits at the cook's insistence and my husband was presented with a $50 bill (for four people, one small child) -- yikes!!! One final thing, I noticed some mold in the shower, but it didn't overpower the room. We stayed for two nights, and it was a great room, but I must say that the cost was far over the top. Still, both boys agreed that it was the nicest room that they had ever stayed in. I would recommend it if people have the money to pay.

Room Tip: Got it on Priceline -- they are very watchful about upgrading people who booked from Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBGrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

It is very centrally located, reasonable price, and the staff were friendly!

Room Tip: We had a view of the square and saw the Christmas tree lighting and music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raleightravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We went here for a mini weekend getaway. It is in a perfect location! We were in walking distance of everything and right across from the famous Paula Deen restaurant. The staff was very professional, and the room was gorgeous! It looks exactly like the pictures on the website. Turn down service with the chocolates was a very nice touch. The hotel breakfast was delicious and perfect for a rainy morning. No complaints, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGMCCULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Avia is a wonderful hotel. We fell in love with it as soon as we walked in the door. We got married there in October. Our ceremony was on the terrace and then we had a small dinner in the dining room. It was absolutely perfect! Love it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Let me start by saying I love Trip Advisor and visit it every time we leave for a trip somewhere. This hotel was #1 at the time on the website, so I checked it out. I am very picky about where we stay and after I checked this place out, I decided to book it. We really liked it! The room was very nice and clean. The beds were unreal! They were awesome. This hotel is close to river street. An easy walk across the street and down some steep stairs and you are on river st. The only negative thing I would say is that the breakfast was on the pricey side. We have a small family of 3 and it was $40. That's alot for breakfast, (for us anyway) but it was VERY good. Yummy. Great place to stay! If you're reading this, go ahead and book it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBCBLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We'd stayed at the Avia just after it opened in Savannah for our wedding night two years ago. We loved it so much we decided to stay again in May when we were there for business. The location simply can't be beat! The food is actually quite good!! We stayed in a beautiful 1-bedroom suite. I was a little saddened to see that this room was showing a few signs of neglect after only two years. Burned out light bulbs, recessed lighting damaged in ceiling, etc. That being said, we still LOVE this hotel! The staff is superb! It's actually today's deal on SniqueAway (http://www.sniqueaway.com/invite/c5626).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 115 in Savannah
1,485 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,080 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,148 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £128 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing