We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great location! Right out side is the City Market and one block over is River Street. The rooms were awesome. We had a suite with the living room. The bath tubs were awesome and very large claw foot stand alone tubs. There is a rooftop swimming pool and bar area. It was worth the extra money for the location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paralegal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
paralegal777, i am so glad you enjoyed your visit, the Andaz suite with the big tub is my favorite room as well. Hope to see you at Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,154
    673
    172
    56
    19
See reviews for
567
1,611
97
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from a four day stay in Savannah. Could not have picked a better place to celebrate our 25th anniversary! Location, staff, rooms could not be beat. If you have the extra money, spring for a suite overlooking the square.
You won't be disappointed !!!
We'll be back.......

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
C D, Happy Anniversary! I feel honored you decided to stay with us for such an occasion, and I feel happy we lived up to the event! Please come back for your 26th! Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We've stayed in a suite at the Andaz (when it was the Avia) but this time we had to get business done while in town so I opted for the loft. It has a full sized fridge, microwave, dishwasher, hot plates, and sink. Non-alcoholic beverages are complimentary from the fridge too. The coffee set-up with the Wolfgang Puck pods are pretty darn awful (I just wish that hotels could get the in-room coffee right) but it's not their fault...just no tastes the stuff that's put in the room.

Service was exemplary and the location can't be beat. We have our room block for our upcoming wedding as well as our rehearsal dinner here. It's been a great experience.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room with balcony on Ellis Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thezingzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
thezingzapper, thank you for your repeated visits and your review. I always like to hear from people who have stayed pre and post name change and renovation, I am happy to hear we are still your favorite in Savannah. Single use coffee is hard to get right, but I am happy to tell you we are working on a few new options. Look forward to your next visit, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Location is perfect and the staff was fantastic. Rooms were very nice, not huge but big enough. Staff was the highlight of this place an could not have been nicer. Only complaint was the really weak water pressure in the somewhat bizarrely arranged shower area. Shower was just weird and the super-low pressure just made it even weirder. Would recommend and defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: BYOSPA, (Bring your own shower pressure accelerator :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuppyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
ContinentalCaptain, thank you for the nice review! My apologies the shower was poor, water pressure is important! Hope to see you here again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We've visited Savannah a half dozen times in the past six or so years and this, by far, was our favorite hotel experience. Here's why:
a) The location -- on Ellis Square -- puts you an easy walk to dozens of interesting shops, restaurants and bars. People watching on Ellis Square (and also in the lobby) is also fun. Note that you are steps from City Market, but it's not for us. It seems very young or very old...but not much in the middle. Better to venture a little farther..but return to Andaz's on-site bar (love the Jet Pilot cocktail and sazerac, in particular) for a night cap or a little break.

b) The room -- We were in 320, which is a suite with a balcony overlooking Ellis and a soaker tub. Plenty of room for us and our luggage (for a two-week trip). Soaker tub fits two. Shower is a decent enough enclosure, but low flow. Men must be behind low-flow showers because any woman with hair longer than shoulder length knows how long it takes to rinse shampoo/conditioner out with low flow. But that aside, room was immaculately clean. Bed was extraordinarily comfortable -- on par with the $4k we shelled out for our home mattress. Balcony has no chairs (mini chairs would fit). But it was lovely to stand out there and soak in the atmosphere (we stayed Halloween night and that offered a great vantage to revelers).

c) The extras: The gym has a couple of ellipticals, one bike (non recumbent) and four or five treadmills, weights, an excersise ball and a couple of other items. It also provides chilled towels, a bowel of apples and free bottled water. Thank you. It overlooks the heated pool, which is on the second-floor terrace. The water is heated to 82 degrees. There are lovely cabanas overlooking the pool. And the terrace also includes a large fire pit and a bar that is sometimes open. Back in the hotel room, the refrigerator is stocked with juice, soda, water...nuts, snacks. All free. There is a $7 charge for craft bottles of beer in the frig...and $25 each for three small flasks of liquor (jack daniels, gin and vodka -- no rum). Morning papers are free, including WSJ. 24-hour room service.

d) The decor: I remember this place before Andaz took it over. The bar had a dark, vampire-ish vibe. That's been lifted. The lobby is open and fresh. Modern couches sit alongside light and black-trimmed windsor chairs -- a nice nod to the history that surrounds this modern hotel. (the rooms, with their velvet couches, still retain a bit of vampire drama, but it's not overwhelming). The restaurant has community seating option.

Other: We arrived at peak check-in time on Halloween. The valets were scrambling, but they were efficient and friendly, as were the staff inside....floating with hand-helds to check in guests and make sure each tottered happily away with a complementary glass of wine (red or white) or a soda. There are two elevators. Guests must insert key card to use and some guests seemed to have problems with that...and that increased wait times for already-busy elevators. Bottom line for us -- Not everyone enjoys a bed and breakfast...the limited serving schedule, the forced socialization. And the Andaz, as a boutique, offers most of the amenities of a bed and breakfast, but wraps them around all the best amenities of a hotel. It's a great hybrid. We'll be back.

Here are some of the places visited for the first time this trip (walked from Andaz)...we recommend each: World of Beer (finally, a good craft selection in Savannah); The Distillery (wait, two good craft brew selections in Savannah...also very good bean burger); The Public Kitchen and Bar (vibe sort of like Andaz, great bruschetta); Pinkie Master's (authentic dive bar (not contrived); Chive (live jazz with a spicy sweet martini, yum).

Room Tip: We overlooked the square and didn't have any problem with the noise...but other reviewers said t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
amagar, thank you for the detailed review. It is gratifying to hear that we can offer some of the attentiveness of a B&B but with the services of a hotel. We share tastes in many restaurants and bars! Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Thrilled with the Andaz. Probably the best service of our three week holiday. Friendly, prompt and so welcoming. Enjoyed wine at check in! Valet also very convient and recommended. Common areas are bright, contemporary and stunning. Room was of a good size and well appointed. Complimentary snacks and refreshments a nice touch. Excellent beds so we had very restful sleeps. Bright bathroom of a good size. Super clean. Fantastic breakfast in the restaurant each morning. Really excellent location that made all the sights within walking distance and also very easy to access/exit the city. Don't look elsewhere. This is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Thirstytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
3Thirstytravellers, thank you so much for your very kind comments, hope to see you at Andaz again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Andaz. The second you walk in the door they send you to a comfortable lounge area to check you in and ask you would you like a glass of red or white wine. Wow, this is going to be good! Then you sit on the couch and they check you in with their iPad. We took the optional upgrade to a suite and were not disappointed - maybe it was the wine talking! ;-) They are all so friendly and very accommodating! The room was beautiful - on the 3rd floor overlooking Ellis Square. River Street and City Market are a short two block walk away as is Broughton Street. You can't beat the location. Jacob at the lobby bar is an asset - knows where to eat and what to do, and makes a mean cocktail! So many mixers - where do I start!?! The lobby computers are very handy for printing up boarding passes/tour tickets. The first 15 minutes are free, but keep in mind you will pay a per page printing fee - nominal and worth the convenience. The room was more than we could ask for, very clean and comfortable. Two large TVs and a huge bathroom. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomo7301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Joanne M , thank you for your business and thank you for your nice review. Please come back to Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,321 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,740 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,102 reviews
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing