We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Service & Staff!”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Service & Staff!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Andaz during a short stay in Savannah late March. The rooms are very nice, clean and well maintained. They have some good free amenities that makes it pleasant ( water, snacks, soda etc ). The hotel also has a great cocktail bar and i recommend you make some time for it. Not to mention the food from the restaurant - fantastic.
I give this a 4 star cos our shower took a long time to heat up to get hot water. I would certainly stay here when i return to the great town of Savannah again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nycnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Nycnls, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your nice tripadvisor review. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary room snacks and the bar and restaurant. My apologies for the hot water issue you encountered. Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    658
    168
    55
    18
See reviews for
549
1,572
91
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
savannah ga
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Scott the Bartender makes the best Manhattan in Savannah, complete with cherries smoked in-house and a whiff of fresh orange oil.
Dinner at the restaurant can be a multi-course affair or a few shared appetizers. All food is sourced locally, creatively prepared and arrives HOT and delicious. We're locals, so can't comment on the accommodations, but the location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshea1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
dshea1013, thank you for your nice review, it is always nice to hear from a Savannahian. Scott and the East of Hudson Manhattan are the best! I tell people it is like three drinks in one, hint of citrus on top, all whiskey in the middle, and that delicious smoke at the end. Come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A very pleasant hotel within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Savannah. We were greeted as soon as we pulled up. The lobby desk in the middle of the room was a first for me and made the staff feel more approachable.
Our room was large and well appointed. I don't know whether to credit my good night sleep to the comfortable bed, walking around Savannah or to the food and drinks in a beautiful city.
The only downside to the room is the shower fixture which I found almost impossible to set at a height I liked. Not a big deal. Just worth mentioning.
The lobby bar was a treat. Jacob or maybe Jason was entertaining as well as making really good drinks. One special treat was the caramelized bacon. Sounds strange but what could possibly be wrong with thick sliced bacon and brown sugar?
Stay here, avoid River Street unless you are still paying active fraternity dues and find some of the smaller restaurants in old houses.

Room Tip: Many of the bars don't open until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
DTChicago, thank you for your visit and your review, the shower heads are meant to be adjustable, I am sorry that was not your experience. I am glad you slept well and enjoyed our famous cayenne candied bacon. Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

What a nice place to stay. We were greeted as soon as we pulled up. Even though they lost our reservation we were still able to get a beautiful room with a great view. Very comfortable king bed. Clean and well maintained. Some of the best staff we have seen. They can't do enough for you. Only a half block from Lady & Sons. They valet parking that is good since parking is hard to find. Complimentary drinks and snacks are a plus. Very good breakfast buffet again with great service. Eggs made to order, lots of fruit and everything you could want. We will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Get a corner room facing the park. Beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PappyK105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
PappyK105, I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and our location. Thank you for your vist and your nice review, I hope you have a chance to return soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have come to not enjoy the cookie-cutter experience of a hotel stay but this truly exceeded my expectations. The check in/concierge area seemed right in the middle of the room when we walked in...so odd...but the staff was so nice and welcoming! It was so loud all around the hotel (we were there around St. Patrick's Day) but our room was actually quiet! We could see revelers from our window, but the drapes blocked out the light and the sound was surprisingly minimal. The room was comfortable and the minibar was well appointed with a variety of complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic drinks. There were several alcoholic choices available for purchase, of course, but it was refreshing to have so many snacks and drinks included with the room. The breakfast was amazing! I'm not sure if it's always included or if I just chose a package with breakfast but wow! I did not have high expectations of a buffet but the omelette bar was incredible! The girl making the omelets was a total grump but her food was delicious! And the choices from the buffet were unique and plentiful! Huge variety of fruits and such an array of healthy choices as well as the usual fare. Great end to our stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alissagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
alissagirl, thank you for your nice review and thank you for staying with us. Andaz has done away with the front desk, we find we serve our guests better without those kinds of barriers, it does seem different at first! I am glad you enjoyed our farm to table breakfast and am sorry the chef was grumpy! Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Overall, a decent hotel even though it started out wrong. For the first night of our stay our room was very noisy from blowers and other mechanical equipment in the wall. It was difficult to sleep with the constant drone -- a similar experience to trying to sleep on an airplane. I even turned off the A/C in the middle of the night, only to find that the "other" sounds were still pervasive. Worst night sleep in years. After complaining to the manager the next morning they moved us to another room --- which was fine. Message: check the room noises out immediately --- and don't accept room 221.
Beds were quite comfortable -- better than at home. Only ate breakfast there, which was good. Fresh fruits, cereals, breads, salmon, etc. Spouse ordered egg dish from menu and declared it good. Bar is right in the lobby area so the combined spaces get pretty loud, but manageable. Bartender good and prices reasonable.
Management is clearly trying to make the entrance and checkin experience different. There is no checkin desk per se, and staff checks you in via tablets. One suggestion is that the staff (doormen, checkin, concierge, etc) should refrain from grouping together and chatting amongst themselves because the customer feels like they are somehow interrupting.
Location is pretty good---right on Ellis Square. It stays pretty noisy AND rowdy at night due to music, motorcycles, etc. You can park in a large public garage below the hotel and take elevators up from several spots on either side of the hotel. Just a 50 yard walk to the hotel. Fee is $16 max per day -- and that is a 24 hour rolling period, unlike many hotels that for pricing purposes restart the "day" clock at midnight.
Lastly, be sure to check your bill when you leave. Mine incorrectly included a beer from the room minibar.

Room Tip: Check out room noise immediately if you are at all sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WWKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
CTwwk, thank you for your visit and thank you for your detailed review, my apologies that your first room was too noisy. We understand that providing a good nights sleep is among our most important duties. Hope to see you at Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Every aspect of my stay at the Andaz in Savannah was excellent. Wonderful reception when I arrived, including a complimentary glass if wine. Beautiful room with French doors that open and a well-stocked minibar (with all non-alcoholic drinks and snacks complimentary). Nice workout facility with cardio equipment and free weights. Cool pool area with a firepit that really warms the patio. Food catered by the hotel was fine, though not exceptional. Good location near the business district and the river. Whether your stay in Savannah is for work or pleasure, I recommend you give Andaz a try.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeToGoInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
TimeToGoInNC, I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for staying at Andaz Savannah and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you here again, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,623 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 113 in Savannah
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing