We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted boutique unique luxury alas what we got was at best below average”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
KarenandScott
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wanted boutique unique luxury alas what we got was at best below average”
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Conde Nast recommended this for a romantic getaway which was what was needed for a weekend. But, the hotel despite the friendly staff was a small room without the "soaking tub," a pool that did look like a soaking tub and nothing else. Odd version of room service, certainly not luxurious ... more motel feel than hotel feel ... Next time we will go back to the Mansion on Forsythe ... We were very very disappointed ... although it rained this whole weekend ... we ought to have felt that we did not want to leave the room instead I felt trapped in a strange sterile surrounding whose amenities rivaled a motel 6.
Note I wrote room service on the hotel amenities .. .but you need to go downstairs to order from the menu but not at the restaurant but at the front desk ... can it get weirder?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 16 June 2009
Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at AVIA Savannah. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, yet I would like to apologize for the issue regarding the size of your room. I did want to inform you that we have seven different room types and unfortunately you booked the smallest room. I wish you had mentioned this concern to our staff because we probably would have upgraded you to a bigger suite. We will also be starting room service in the next few weeks. Thank you again for your comments and we hope this will not impact your return to this hotel.
Yours in Hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,057
    652
    168
    54
    17
See reviews for
540
1,557
90
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montgomery, al
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The AVIA was a wonderful hotel. My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. We had a "Classic King" room on the fourth floor. The room was a little bit small but we didn't really hang out in the room that much so that wasn't a big deal. The bathroom was again, small, but comfortable and the walk in shower was different. The bed was really comfy! The pool area was so nice and we spent almost every afternoon out there for a few hours. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but it looked really nice and the food smelled incredible. We had drinks at the bar one night before going out and the bartender was really helpful and entertaining.

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect for spending time in Savannah! We walked everywhere and really enjoyed our stay. When you walk out the front doors of the AVIA, you are literally steps away from City Market, Paula Deen's restaurant and River Street.

Ellis Square (which the hotel faces) is a currently a construction site. They are turning it into a traditional green square like the others, but I was surprised to find this massive construction project underway when we got there. However, we did not hear any construction noise.

Overall, it was a fantastic experience and I would stay here again and would love to stay at AVIA's other properties!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The Avia of Savannah exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff was amazingly friendly and accomodating. The location couldn't have been any better; within walking distance to some great dining, shopping, and nightlife. The decor and room was great, very eclectic. I will definately be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We had a great weekend at the AVIA. Even though it rained the ENTIRE holiday weekend, the staff was lovely. Our only "issues" were a wierd server and an ok concierge. Other than that, we thought that the staff was FANTASTIC! They allowed us to check out umbrellas for the wretched weather. The bellmen & valets were unbelieveably helpful and courteous. The staff behind the desk were fantastic. Their cookies were delicious! We loved that we were able to hang out with friends in our room due to the crappy weather and feel comfortable. The rooms layouts are very smart. We loved having a mini kitchen because it was clean and modern. Usually kitchenettes creep me out-not these, I promise!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmutt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We recently visited Savannah for our First Wedding Anniversary and loved the Avia. I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Savannah. The location is just great - in walking distance to all of the sights you came to see. The accomodations are wonderful, staff is freindly and helpful. We hope to return to Savannah again and would definitely stay at the Avia. My husband could not get enough of the sweet tea at the check in desk!

Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mstella140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Our room was wonderful and the staff was great. Becky the concierge was so helpful!
We loved the bedding so much, we ordered a set to take home.
We never heard any outside noise at all.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing