We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this hotel!”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED this hotel!”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed at the AVIA Savannah for a bachelorette party and booked the 1 bdrm deluxe hosting suite. It had a king size bed and a pull-out sofa which was great for our group. There is a small kitchenette in the room that was perfect for keeping our drinks and appetizers cool. The modern room decorations were very nice and not what you might expect from a room with a kitchen in it. The location was PERFECT and all of the hotel staff we met were wonderful. Lester, who helped with all of our many, many bags was so nice and so was Dee at the desk. HIGHLY recommend this hotel for groups looking for a place to stay for a night out in Savannah. It was so close to River Street and all the best bars! Wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAusten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,092
    658
    168
    55
    18
See reviews for
549
1,572
91
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My boyfriend and I drove down to Savannah from Atlanta for a quick day trip to get away. We only stayed one night at the AVIA....but WOW!!! The location of the hotel is perfect. You are only steps from all the action, including River Street and all the great restaurants. The hotel itself is gorgeous, and the service is second to none. Upon arriving, we were greeted first by the valet and bellboy, both of whom were very friendly. Once we walked up to the front desk, we were given a very warm welcome and were handed the keys to our room within minutes. I was pleasantly surprised by this, considering we arrived very early (around 11:30 AM), and official check-in time is not until 4:00 PM. Everyone we encountered at the hotel, from the check-in staff to the breakfast staff in the dining room, was very polite and professional. The room itself was amazing. Very comfortable and classy decor. All in all, we could not fault the hotel. The AVIA Savannah is a perfect example of what a great hotel should be like.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantacmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Perfect example of what a great hotel should be like is a very nice compliment. I am glad you chose AVIA for your quick getaway from Atlanta and had an excellent stay! Thank you for recognizing the staff and for the nice comments regarding the room and decor. We hope to see you again in the future!
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Avia bills itself as an upscale, or luxury hotel. Based on three days' observations plus 35 years of attending conferences and conducting other business travel, it appeared to me that he vast majority of their guests are spending company money and not terribly concerned with getting value. That's fine and dandy but if traveling on your own, as we were, you can do better with one of the "names" or in a B&B if you prefer.
Avia staff are solicitous and knowledgeable but all of the interest in my likes and dislikes came across as a bit phony in some cases.
Travelers should be warned that the least expensive of their very expensive accommodations, have only a shower and no bath tub. These rooms are extraordinarily small and the absence of a tub (necessary for my wife's condition) led us to request a change, graciously done and our stay was uneventful.

The $20/day parking seems to be a city garage fee, not the hotel's idea.

They provide a marvelous breakfast for about $12 (if you pay for it the night before) but need to implement some sort of system which will allow guests who do not want a full breakfast, to order a la carte, if desired.
Great location for tourists and excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oenophile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 June 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at AVIA Savannah. I am sorry the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We do offer several room types and we do have rooms available with wonderful soaking tubs. Also, we are reviewing our breakfast options as we've had other requests for an a la carte breakfast as well as a full.
I do want to let you know that we are committed to enhancing each guest's experience with us by providing excellent customer service and your feedback greatly helps us with our staff training so that the next time you are with us we are better prepared to offer you the wonderful and memorable experience we strive for! I appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The Avia is beautiful. The decor is modern/contemporary and every little detail -- down to the intricate wallpaper in the main floor bathroom -- was exquisite. The beds are very comfortable (you can sink into it) and the pillows were down filled. The staff was great -- from the valet, to Lester our baggage carrier and Miss Becky at concierge -- everyone was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is also in a great location, it is 50 steps to Lady & Son's, 50 steps to the City Centre and 1 block to the river. We didn't have an issue with noise as another reviewer mentioned and the AC worked great. My only regret is that I didn't get a chance to stay longer. I will definitely stay at the Avia when I go back to Savannah!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 June 2010
"Exquisite décor, friendly staff, comfy bed and great location" are very nice compliments regarding AVIA and your recent stay. Thank you for noticing all the details that were put in to making the hotel unique and special. The staff works to make every guest have a wonderful visit and it sounds as though they exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again when you can stay a little longer.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Booked our Memorial Day weekend at the Avia in Savannah, based solely on the reviews here on trip advisor. We were very happy. The location is prime: we walked everywhere. It is very close to River St. The staff was one of the best we have seen.

Breakfast is a buffet and is awesome. Prepay the night before for 25% off. The room was clean, with a contemporary feel, and had plenty of space. Our package included a private carriage tour, as well as a champagne bottle. We did not experience the noise problems previously reviewed. We love their no smoking no pets policy. The fitness room is new and clean; could have more there but adequate for the vacationing fitness buff.

Again, the service here is second to none. If you are asking why the prices are a little high, its because you are paying for location and service. To us, worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurFamilyGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 June 2010
I am so pleased you found AVIA lived up to the reviews and is worth every penny. It is great you enjoyed the location of the hotel with it being located in the heart of the historic district and within walking distance to many sites and restaurants. Thank you for the nice comments regarding the staff and service. They strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay and it sounds like they exceeded your expectations. We welcome you back to AVIA anytime!
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Four of us (my husband and I plus two young adults) intended to stay in the lux one bedroom hosting suite that was approximately 550 square feet, with king size bed in the private bedroom and a queen sleeper sofa in the main room. While this hotel is beautiful, new, and trendy, our room was a huge disappointment. We were on the second floor with no balcony, only a window which looked directly at the fire pit located on the pool level. The french doors leading into the private bedroom would not stay closed. There was no access to the bathroom other than going through the bedroom. However the main problem was the air conditioning system that blew directly onto the king size bed. It was too warm not to use the a/c but it was very uncomfortable with the air blowing with such extreme force and directly onto the bed. The vent had no controls that would allow for redirection. Due to this discomfort, we checked out earlier than planned.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 June 2010
We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations and we have worked very hard to earn the comments and reviews we receive and will continue to do so. We hope we get the opportunity to change your mind on a future visit.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We just returned from our stay at the AVIA. I must say, the staff was excellent and very friendly, and I mean from the doormen to the front desk. Laurel in particular was very extremely helpful in guiding us to Hilton Head and Beaufort in South Carolina, and another woman (whose name I regrettably don't recall) the night we needed help printing our boarding passes. The rooms were very attractive, and the amenities just perfect. My only complaint/caution to others is the doors are so thin you can word for word hear people speaking in their rooms, as you walk to your room. One night I was awakened by people walking about and chatting it up in the hallway in the wee hours of the night and not speak loudly in the hallway in case someone was sleeping. I made it a point to keep my conversations in the room with a lowered volume as well. If the hotel fixes this situation I wouldn't have any complaint! Their morning buffet is a good deal if you pay by midnight the night before and get the discount - otherwise I recommend Goosefeathers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldknurse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 13 June 2010
It gives me great pleasure to know everyone from the doorman to the front desk staff exceeded your expectations during your stay and the amenities were perfect. I do apologize for the noise you could hear in your room from the hallway. I hope this didn't impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 113 in Savannah
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing