We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like celebrities !”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We felt like celebrities !”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Our first impression- we found the valet parking to be tricky as the area you park in is marked "no parking" and there was no one outside. But we parked there anyway and went inside for assistance. They were quick to help us and after that, our experience was perfect. As my husband said "I feel like a celebrity". We were treated very graciously by everyone.
The hotel is in a perfect location. Walking distance to everything. The river, and the historic district.
It is also very security conscious and you must use your hotel key to operate the elevator.
Our view was perfect and the room was more than we imagined it would be. It had french doors to the balcony that overlooked Ellis Square. The furniture is very unique and "un-hotely". It also has a large soaking tub. There is a coffee maker in the room and lots of storage in that area.
The in room safe is large enough for a laptop.
The only unsatisfactory thing about our stay was the housekeeping service. Don't get me wrong, the room was spotless, but we went out all day (and it was HOT) in order to give them time to clean the room. When we left, the housekeeping cart was 2 doors away from our room. When we got back 6 hours later, the room STIll had not been cleaned. We gave up and just asked for clean towels and did not have the room cleaned. By then we were too tired to go out again.
We had the breakfast buffet (delicious homemade waffles) but I could nt bring myself to order shrimp and grits for breakfast, and now I am sorry I did not at least try them because they have received rave reviews on this site.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
I read your review and are tickled you felt like celebrities while staying at AVIA. Thank you for the nice comments regarding the hotel décor, location and staff. I do apologize for the confusion with the valet parking and will look at ways to ease the arrival for our future guests. I also apologize for your room not being serviced by housekeeping. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper to make sure all rooms are cleaned in a timely manner. We do hope you will stay with us again and try the shrimp and grits at breakfast.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,131
    669
    172
    56
    19
See reviews for
562
1,596
97
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The AVIA is a really beautiful hotel right in the middle of the best part of Savannah. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was "genuinely" friendly...went out of their way from the start to the finish of our visit. Not a lot of southern drawl out of the front desk which was kind of funny...afterall, you are in a southern city and not one person was local (we asked). The room was great...the beds are some of the best I have experienced ever. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the linens. The bathrooms without a shower door look nice but, are just annoying....water goes everywhere. Our bathroom tile had mold in the crevices...probably because there is limited light on the property. The pool was absolutely great. My biggest complaint was that after I shut the lights off to sleep the amber light on the clock drove me crazy way TOO BRIGHT. I turned over to see a green light flickering on and off from the ceiling? Which also was annoying. My kids complained a little about the noise from Ruth Chris' and the weird, constant flash bulbs going off. The positives however, way outweighed the oddities.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpetegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad you chose to stay at AVIA too! Thank you for recognizing the staff as they enjoy making every guest's experience positive and memorable. I read your concerns regarding the shower and I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper. She will take the necessary steps to ensure all of the bathrooms are cleaned properly. We appreciate your positive comments and suggestions as they will help us become better in the future.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My wife and I stayed in Savannah to celebrate Independence Day and this hotel was our favorite part of the trip. The hotel staff worked hard to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. We stayed in a regular king bed room which was an average size without much of a view, but the quality of the furnishings was top notch. The room was impeccably clean and even smelled wonderfully. The worst part about our stay was probably the valet parking. The valets were very helpful and polite, but it was sort of difficult to get in and out of the car in the street. But since everything was in walking distance, there wasn't much need for the car. Oh yeah, even if you don't stay at the hotel, you have to stop by for breakfast for the shrimp and grits. It's the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheaperthanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Extremely impressed with hotel, and favorite part of your trip are very nice compliments. We thank you for posting your comments and are glad that you found AVIA to be convenient and comfortable. I did read your comment and concern regarding the valet parking. Your concerns are very important to us and will allow us to review our services and help us become better. We look forward to having you back to AVIA.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesville, ga
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel in Oct. 2009 and it was just super. When we came back in Apr. 2010 it had really taken a beaten. We tried to get the management to fix the problems but they seemed to busy. The guy that came to our room was a little helpful but did not fix any of the major problems. I did not think that this hotel could have gotten in such bad shape in a very short period of time (6mos) This is an outstanding hotel and I hope they can get these problems under control.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakwoodmoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for staying with us again and being a loyal guest. We have addressed these issues in this room and we have increased our maintenance program in every room to ensure we maintain our hotel in great condition. Your comments and suggestions are very important to us and will help us become better. I really appreciate your concerns and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I travelled to Savannah on business and arrived on a Monday afternoon. We were greeted as we arrived and had no trouble with check-in. The lobby/bar area is nice. The room, although small, was perfectly fine. The ammenities were good and the bed was comfortable. I had no issues with noise and I was on the third floor. Breakfast was good, but not amazing. The location is fantastic and the pool and gym are quite nice. I only have two complaints, but they are rather big. First, we decided to take a ghost tour so I called the concierge for a suggestion. She pointed us to the Hauntings Tour. It was HORRIBLE. I don't know if the guide that night was a substitute, but the quality was very poor. Thus, my faith in the concierge was greatly damaged. Secondly, I had to be up early on Wednesday to drive to a meeting. I set up a wake-up call with the front desk, as I had the day before. One hour past the time for my wake-up call, my colleague texted me to see where I was. There had been no call. Thus, we were late for the meeting. If you stay here, use the alarm clock!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at AVIA. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we get. I do apologize for you not receiving your wake-up call and I hope you addressed it with the front desk. I am also disappointed to hear the ghost tour the concierge recommended was not as you expected. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues and improve. I am happy to know you enjoyed the amenities and location of the hotel. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I took my teenage daughter and her friend to Savannah for 3 days and 2 nights at the end of June. What a wonderful experience we had at the Avia! When we arrived, a valet immediately took care of our car and a bellman got our luggage. They were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The lobby is small but lovely. The employees at the front desk were busy with other guests when we arrived, but the concierge came right over to check us in so that we didn't have to wait at all. Check-in was quick and easy and the concierge gave us a map and some quick tips of things we'd want to see.

We arrived in our lovely king suite only to find that it did not have a sleeper sofa as I had requested. I called the front desk and they immediately got to work getting us set up in the correct room. In the meantime a very nice bellman, Lester, arrived with our luggage. He spoke with the front desk and they got everything worked out. In about 10-15 minutes, Lester came back with new keys and moved us to our new room. It was very nice with a view of the pool area.

The room was incredibly clean with nice linens, soft (!!) towels, robes and nice bath products. We had a little kitchen area with a stove even, but we didn't really use it much. They did have plates and flatware which came in handy one night when we got takeout. The king bed was incredibly comfortable. The pull-out sofa wasn't so great, but, hey, they're teens, they can sleep anywhere!

One of our favorite things about the Avia was the pool area. It was about 100 degrees the days we were in Savannah, so we thought it was too hot to go to the pool during the day. On the second day we needed to leave the room so that the maid could clean and we reluctantly put on our swimsuits and headed to the pool. What a nice surprise to find water misters going full blast and cooling the entire pool area! It was incredible! We ended up hanging out for a couple of hours because it was such a relief from the heat.

The concierge proved to be helpful a second time when the teens decided they would like to go on a ghost tour. She got us set up on one that night, no problem. We went on the "Hearse Ghost Tour" which was kind of weird, but pretty fun. The concierge was very nice and knowledgeable.

The location of the Avia is really great: close to shopping, historic sites, the river....everything! We walked to everything we wanted to see. There are just two things that would have improved our stay: in-room movies and the hotel's participation in the Tablet-plus program. Although this is a Tablet hotel, they do not offer any member benefits and that was disappointing. Otherwise, everything else was FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deathbycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Wow! What a wonderful review of AVIA Savannah! Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I'm very pleased to read that our staff exceeded your expectations from the minute you arrived at the hotel. It is great to know you enjoyed the pool area, the amenities in the room, and the location of the hotel was close to all you wanted to experience in Savannah. It is great your stay was fantastic and we hope to see you again!
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the AVIA for our 10th anniversary. We had the most relaxing time away from our busy lives. The staff was wonderful. There is no comparison to the service we received. The hotel sits in the middle of all the action. It is the perfect walking distance to River St. My husband and I only used our car to travel to areas outside the historic district and the surrounding sights (Hilton Head & Tybee Island). We have already recommended this hotel to friends that are planning a trip to Savannah. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and any of its partners. I am so excited to have a wonderful alternative to the chain hotels. If you ever take my advice and stay at AVIA, don't leave without trying the Shrimp and Grits in the restaurant. You won't be disappointed. They are off the chain.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suwaneegirl630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
I am thrilled to hear you and your husband had the most relaxing time at AVIA for your 10th anniversary. It is also great to know you were able to experience the sites within walking distance of the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the shrimp and grits at breakfast! We can't wait to see you again in Savannah or at one of our other locations.
In hospitality, Pedro Perez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,269 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,707 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing