We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #14 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed over Valentine's weekend, and it was the perfect home-base for our Savannah explorations. Jane and Rocky were such gracious and kind hosts. They were really helpful from beginning to end. The breakfasts were delicious, and our suite in the basement was lovely. The location was also highly convenient: a short, pleasant walk to the sights of the historic district, and proximate to a grocery store. We had such an amazing stay, and would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rox221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    69
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
185
498
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

It's been a while since my wife and I visited Amethyst Inn but it was even better than I remembered. Our suite was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was tremendous with an egg/crab dish to die for. Owners Rocky and Jane made us feel like family, only better cause we didn't have to do any chores. It feels like I've known them my whole life. This is what I hope for whenever I stay at a B&B. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanderLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a pleasant stop on our way home from Walt Disney World. Rocky & Jane welcomed our family of 5 with warm hospitality, delicious food, a beautiful garden suite and the old fashioned southern comfort that we dream of. We absolutely loved our experience at this B&B! Thank you for such a memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend arranged our trip to Savannah for Valentine's Day. He researched many B&Bs. He made several phone calls to each to ask questions. Rocky and Jane, the owners, were, by far, the most helpful and the most prompt at returning calls. They were more than willing to go out of their way to handle a few surprises for me.

Rocky and Jane were extremely loving and were very well prepared for our visit. They greeted us by name and like they had known us for years. They handled calling cabs, making dinner reservations, and were always around to give options for activities. They always had various cookies and snacks out for guests. They were always visible in the house to be available to help or just to chat. We got along with them extremely well. We even got a chance to hang out with their friends one evening when we decided to come in early. We had just as much fun talking in the kitchen than we did out in the town!

The breakfast was AWESOME. The Inn was full and three of us were vegetarians. No problems. Jane easily accommodated us. Breakfast was different each day, but usually had some egg dish, and a few other hot sides. The grits were so creamy! There was also fresh fruit, coffee, tea, orange and apple juice, and granola. I loved sitting at the big table and getting to know new people.

Everyone at that Inn had a different journey in their lives and none of us were terribly similar, but we all had great conversation and had great appreciation for each other. THAT was an added bonus and a great blessing!

We stayed in the Magnolia room and we loved it. The inn was quiet at night and there was hot water in the shower. Overall, my best B&B experience.

Thanks Rocky and Jane for your part of a great weekend.

Room Tip: The Magnolia room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our fourth time with this bed and breakfast. Jane and Rocky are the best hosts we have ever experienced and we stay in b&bs all over the world. Great food and a beautiful suite! Jane is an incredible cook and there was always more food that kept coming. Rocky takes a lot of pride in the inn and has done the remold work himself. If you are in need of anything at any hour just feel at home. We always do and that is why we always stay there when we are in Savannah!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

There are many B&Bs in Savannah but you are really missing out on the food and hospitality of Jane and Rocky if you don't give Amethyst Inn a try! It was a Valentine's weekend surprise for me and what a great time from the greetings, the restaurant reservations they made for us, the suggestions for sightseeing, the fabulous food and company. And the stories and pictures just added to the love and care they show for place they want their guests to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnom5428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I can see that this Inn is very popular and receives a lot of positive reviews. I have to say I'm a little surprised as I thought it didn't really quite deserve these glowing reports. From the exterior the Inn looks a little drab. The sign outside has letters missing/hanging off and there is a general air of the place having seen better days. The hosts are friendly and warm, but I have to say I was a little disappointed by the breakfast - the quantity and choice seemed a bit limited.

We stayed in a basement room, which was dark and again felt a bit dated. May be the upstairs rooms are nicer, but I can't help but feel there must be better places to stay in Savannah.

Clearly many people enjoy staying here, and many of these things are down to personal taste, but we found the Inn a bit dated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getafix_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing