We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved everything about it and can't wait to come back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #13 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
1 review
“Loved everything about it and can't wait to come back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

This was my third stay here at the Amethyst Inn. The purpose of our trip was a girl getaway for my mom, sister and I. We all had traveled thousands of miles to get to Savannah and so it was clear that there would have been no better place to stay. The owners, Rocky and Jane make you feel like you are part of their family from the first minute you start to make your reservation over the phone.

The location of the inn is perfect. A grocery store is a block away and the “package” store is across the street. Located only about a five minute walk from the inn is the amazing Forsyth Park. Since this inn is located within the historic district it is a nice scenic walk through historic Savannah squares to the waterfront.

Rocky and Jane invite guests daily to regroup at 5:00 for happy hour. This is a great opportunity to enjoy some wonderful Southern homemade apps and to meet other guests and get some pointers on what to see and do while in Savannah. If you are lucky enough to stay at the Amethyst Inn, you must put in a request for Pat’s grits. You have never had better grits than hers!

The inn is an original. Each guestroom has a different theme; all of them are dripping with charm. The owners, Rocky and Jane are almost always on hand (if they aren’t on hand they leave their phone number and insist that you call if you need something) to help you with directions, dining recommendations, planning activities, suggesting vendors, or taking you our crabbing off the dock of their personal home. If you want or need anything, they have you covered.

We have loved our 3 different stays here at the Amethyst Inn and would love to come back time and time again. I am going to have to come up with a good excuse to drag my family across the country again so we can again visit Rocky and Jane in Savannah!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsygirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    69
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
185
498
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

We chose the Amethyst Inn because it was the highest-rated B&B in Savannah recommended for families with teenagers, and were not disappointed. Our rooms were beautiful and comfortable. June and Rocky were consummate hosts, as helpful as they could be, and the food was delicious. I really can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

This was our second stay at the Amethyst Inn, and it won't be our last. Our first stay was a 3 day visit to Savannah about 2 years ago. We have such fond memories of our time their. Our trip this holiday season was a stop over on our way to Naples Fl to visit with family. We could have stayed in a cheaper place like a chain hotel, but it would not have been worth it. We would have missed out on the wonderful hospitality. The Inn itself is clean and very comfortable, but it's the people that make it such a nice place to visit. Owners Jane and Rocky are super. It's really nice while traveling to feel so warmly welcomed. If you are going to Savannah.... go see Jane and Rocky. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artdecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

Amethyst Inn is a very well preserved Victorian near all the sights of old historic Savannah. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was the highlight, with wonderful Southern cooking and time to visit with our hosts, Rocky and Jane. We were treated like members of the family and our every need/request was immediately addressed. We departed feeling like we had a new home in Savannah and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

This old inn has been lovingly restored to its original charm. What made it extra special when we stayed there were the many and beautiful Christmas decorations all around. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and our hosts Rocky and Jane made us feel very much at home. They were full of information and suggestions about what to do and see in Savannah and surrounding areas, and great places to eat. Jane is a terrific cook, and we loved her ample hot breakfasts and endless varieties of Christmas cookies. I especially liked the fact that the inn is located a little off the main tourist track, but within easy walking distance of everything. I would go back in a NY minute.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikawoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

First trip to Savannah for a girls weekend. Rocky & Jane do a great job orientating their guests to the city and what is has to offer. Great breakfast every morning. The Inn is well located, Savannah is a walkable city. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmie1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

They make you feel like family, she takes pride in her venue, and puts that extra special touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laboroflove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing